Thursday, July 30, 2020

The Greenbecker Gambit by Ben Graff REVIEW

The Greenbecker Gambit
by Ben Graff


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

‘I only feel truly alive when the chess clock is ticking and the patterns on the squares in front of me are dancing in my head. Very little else gives me the same feeling. Nothing else, that does not involve a flame.’

Tennessee Greenbecker is bravely optimistic as he sets out to claim what he sees as rightfully his – the title of world chess champion. But who is he really? Is he destined to be remembered as chess champion or fire-starter? Either way, might this finally be his moment?

Purchase Links:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Greenbecker-Gambit-Ben-Graff-ebook/dp/B08774SJYN
https://www.amazon.ca/Greenbecker-Gambit-Ben-Graff-ebook/dp/B08774SJYN
https://www.amazon.com/Greenbecker-Gambit-Ben-Graff-ebook/dp/B08774SJYN

Chess and Bridge
https://shop.chess.co.uk/The-Greenbecker-Gambit-Ben-Graff-p/cb07811.htm

Review:

Thank you to Ben Graff and Rachel's Random Resources for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own. 

The only thing Tennesee loves as much as chess is fire. He is determined he will be remembered forever, possibly as a chess champion, possibly as an arsonist. 

Tennessee Greenbecker is probably the most delusional character I have ever read about. Reading from his point of view made me continuously go back and forth from being extremely annoyed by him to being completely fascinated by his cluelessness. Graff did a great job in creating such a steady character. 

The Greenbecker Gambit was certainly a creative piece of work. It was interesting to watch things unfold and finally see how things ended. The writing was good and the pace was good for the storyline. I think this story would be enjoyed by chess lovers everywhere. 

This book is sure to keep you reading, even if it's only to see what delusion Tennessee will come up with next.

About Author

Ben Graff is a writer, journalist and Corporate Affairs professional. He is a regular contributor to Chess and Authors Publish. He is not a grandmaster but did draw with one once.

Social Media Links:

Twitter: GreenBGambit
LinkedIn: Ben Graff



Tuesday, July 14, 2020

I Love You So Mochi by Sarah Kuhn REVIEW

I Love You So Mochi
by Sarah Kuhn


Synopsis:

Kimi Nakamura loves a good fashion statement.

She's obsessed with transforming everyday ephemera into Kimi Originals: bold outfits that make her and her friends feel like the Ultimate versions of themselves. But her mother disapproves, and when they get into an explosive fight, Kimi's entire future seems on the verge of falling apart. So when a surprise letter comes in the mail from Kimi's estranged grandparents, inviting her to Kyoto for spring break, she seizes the opportunity to get away from the disaster of her life.

When she arrives in Japan, she's met with a culture both familiar and completely foreign to her. She loses herself in the city's outdoor markets, art installations, and cherry blossom festival - and meets Akira, a cute aspiring med student who moonlights as a costumed mochi mascot. And what begins as a trip to escape her problems quickly becomes a way for Kimi to learn more about the mother she left behind, and to figure out where her own heart lies.

In I Love You So Mochi, author Sarah Kuhn has penned a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel that will make you squee at the cute, cringe at the awkward, and show that sometimes you have to lose yourself in something you love to find your Ultimate self.

Review:

It is so hard to write a thoughtful review when all I want to do is gush about how much I loved everything about this book. I'll give it a shot but I can't promise anything more than heart eye emojis. 

Ok, I absolutely loved this book! The relationships were so sweet, I couldn't help but gush over practically every page. We get to see all different kinds of relationships and they are all beautiful and unique, each with its own issues and charms. The writing is engaging. I was drawn in from the very beginning. The story plays out well with a steady pace that fits with the story line. The context of the story is beautiful. The author uses humor and drama in a way that compliments and shapes the story to give its readers maximum impact. When I reached the end I wanted it to continue. Kimi was a wonderful main character. She was charming, delightful and had this spark that made her easy to cheer for. While the ending was well done, it was hard to say goodbye to these characters that I have fallen in love with. 

So that's it I guess, there's my review. I loved every bit of I Love You So Mochi and it's one of my favorite books ever.

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

What Unbreakable Looks Like by Kate McLaughlin

What Unbreakable Looks Like
by Kate McLaughlin


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

Lex was taken – trafficked - and now she’s Poppy. Kept in a hotel with other girls, her old life is a distant memory. But when the girls are rescued, she doesn’t quite know how to be Lex again.

After she moves in with her aunt and uncle, for the first time in a long time, she knows what it is to feel truly safe. Except, she doesn’t trust it. Doesn't trust her new home. Doesn’t trust her new friend. Doesn’t trust her new life. Instead she trusts what she shouldn’t because that's what feels right. She doesn’t deserve good things.

But when she is sexually assaulted by her so-called boyfriend and his friends, Lex is forced to reckon with what happened to her and that just because she is used to it, doesn’t mean it is okay. She’s thrust into the limelight and realizes she has the power to help others. But first she’ll have to confront the monsters of her past with the help of her family, friends, and a new love.

Kate McLaughlin’s What Unbreakable Looks Like is a gritty, ultimately hopeful novel about human trafficking through the lens of a girl who has escaped the life and learned to trust, not only others, but in herself.

Review:

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

This book wasn't perfect, but it was pretty dam close. What Unbreakable Looks Like is the story of Lex and her life after she is rescued from her life of prostitution. Picking up where Lex left off before her life in the sex trade is extremely difficult. With severe trust issues, fear of being sucked back into her old life and dealing with her new high school Lex is in for a fight if she hopes to take her life back.

What Unbreakable Looks Like is gritty, harsh, raw and completely captivating. Reading about Lex's recovery was heartbreaking while also hopeful. I felt this book was able to find a perfect balance in getting the imagery of life as a forced sex worker without being overly graphic. I think even if you do have a rough time getting through books that deal with mature, graphic topics such as this you should still be able to get through it. The writing was captivating; I found myself drawn into the story from the very first page. While the story was hard to read it was also difficult to put down. For me this is a definite must read.

Thursday, June 18, 2020

What Momma Left Me by Renee Watson

What Momma Left Me
by Renee Watson


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•

Synopsis:

How is it that unsavory raw ingredients come together to form a delicious cake? What is it about life that when you take all the hard stuff and rough stuff and add in a lot of love, you still just might have a wonderful life? For Serenity, these questions rise up early when her father kills her mother, and leaves her and her brother Danny to live with their kind but strict grandparents. Despite the difficulties of a new school, a new church, and a new neighborhood, Serenity gains strength from the family around her, the new friends she finds, and her own careful optimism. Debut author RenΓ©e Watson's talent shines in this powerful and ultimately uplifting novel.

Review:

Ok.. this book was amazing! Throughout its pages my heart was broken to pieces and slowing pieces back together.

Why do women and girls keep such horrible secrets?

Serenity and her brother Danny are sent to live with their grandparents after the tragic death of their mother. Moving into their grandparents house means starting over; new house, new friends, new school and new church. The only thing Serenity takes with her are the secrets she's been taught to keep. When the secrets become too much Serenity must decide if keeping them is better or if she should let them go and give herself a chance to heal.

What Momma Left Me is so much more than your average story. With characters you can't help but falling in love with and writing that draws you in from the beginning, Watson takes you on a journey of pain, love and healing that you won't soon forget. Serenity is such a sweet main character. You won't be able to help adoring her. The situations she faces and works through at such a tender age will make you cheer her on long after the story has ended.

You can't truly enjoy a happy ending if you skip through all the bad parts.

I feel like this book would be good for about 10 years and older. While there is mature content, it is not graphic or detailed. We are given enough detail to break out hearts without it being graphic.

Purchase Links:

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

May by Kelli Green REVIEW

May
by Kelli Green


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•
Synopsis:

Marianna spent a lot of time doing her own thing on her own time, but when she turned 16, her parents gave her a surprise that would change the course of her life forever. Refusing to let her parents choose her destiny, she launched herself into the real world. Young, opinionated, naive, and strong-willed, Mariana makes friends, enemies, and quick decisions that set the stage for her life. One thing is certain. When Marianna chose to step out of her parents’ home, she stepped into her role as a woman; ready or not.

This fictional story is the first full-length novel in the Green Ivy Series, a series of short stories and novels written by, Kelli Green. If you've read, Elizabeth: A Short Story by Kelli Green, then you already know a few of the characters. This story takes place around the same timeline of, Elizabeth; but not to worry, reading Elizabeth only gave you a small peek into the world.

Purchase Link:

CA - https://www.amazon.ca/May-Novel-1-Green-Ivy/dp/B085HM89LY/

US - https://www.amazon.com/May-Novel-1-Green-Ivy/dp/B085HM89LY/

Review:

May is the story of 16 year old Marianna. Marianna is expected to do as she's told and just be happy with the life she's been given. However, as a strong-willed girl who knows what she doesn't want she is not going to lay down and accept anything. Marianna is not afraid work, she's not afraid of her parents and she's not afraid of the future she is struggling to create. 

I absolutely adored this book! I simply couldn't get enough and was reading it every chance I got. It took me less than 48 hours to go from start to finish. During this book I laughed, I cried and I cheered. Green managed to break my heart and then slowly put it back together again. The characters were all extremely well done, even though they are not all likeable. 

While there are a couple minor editing issues, I still can't help but give this book 5 stars. The story was simply wonderful, and had Green of added another 100 pages just to continue with Marianna's story I would of happily read until the end. Kelli Green is a story teller and I can't wait to read her next work. 

Author Bio

Kelli Green is a writer and history lover, and music and movie fanatic living in Pensacola, Florida. She loves writing, learning, reading, and listening to people's stories.

Social Media Links:
greenscenespirit.com
https://twitter.com/keloggs8495plus
https://www.instagram.com/keloggs8495plus/
https://www.facebook.com/keloggs8495plus/

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

A Good Demon Is Hard to Find by Kate Moseman REVIEW

A Good Demon Is Hard To Find
by Kate Moseman


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

Sometimes, a date from hell is just what you need...

When Erin thoughtlessly lays a curse on Mark, her cheating ex-husband, she doesn’t expect a well-dressed Great Earl of Hell to show up in her kitchen to fulfill the curse (and make damn good coffee while he’s at it).

Andromalius specializes in wickedness and revenge. He’s ready, willing, and able to rain down hell on Erin’s ex—but when Mark announces a hasty new marriage, Erin needs more than just revenge.

She needs a date to the wedding.

Fans of Good Omens, Lucifer, and The Good Place will love this wickedly funny paranormal romantic comedy!

Purchase Link: http://mybook.to/agooddemon

Review:

Witches and demons and love oh my!

This was exactly what I needed! Erin's husband Mark has left her to be with another woman, so what could Erin do besides possibly place a curse on that evil ex? So when Andromalius, a powerful Great Earl of Hell who just so happens to know how to make a great cup of coffee appears in her kitchen one morning to fulfill the curse, things get evil and fun very quickly!

Our main character Erin changes so much throughout out story. We watch her grow from a sad, angry ex-wife to a hot, rocking single woman. Her transformation is entertaining to watch and easy to enjoy. Andromalius is everything you could ever need in a demon sidekick. He is funny, charming and simply evil. The story line was great and well paced. The writing was also really good. It was simply a joy from start to finish. I would definitely read more by this author. 

This was a perfect pallet cleanser! I was hoping for a fun and enjoyable romance and that is exactly what I received. A Good Demon Is Hard To Find is a story that is as fun and cute as it's cover! It you want something to make you laugh and fall in love with just a touch of evil then you should definitely give this one a try.

Author Bio


Kate Moseman is a writer, photographer, and recipe developer who lives in Florida with her family and enjoys going to theme parks as frequently as possible.

Social Media Links:

https://www.katemoseman.com
https://www.facebook.com/katemosemanauthor/
https://twitter.com/KateMoseman
https://www.instagram.com/katemoseman/
https://www.pinterest.com/katemosemanauthor/




Friday, May 22, 2020

An Implacable Woman by K.T. Findlay REVIEW

An Implacable Woman
by K.T. Findlay


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

If a tooth costs a tooth and an eye costs an eye
When a man hits his wife, then it’s his turn to die


Furious that the courts and police can’t prevent respected surgeon John Kirby from beating his wife, Sally Mellors steps in to save her. Permanently…

But Grace Kirby isn’t the only one who needs saving and Sally quickly discovers she’s taken on a much bigger job than she’d thought.

With her unique ability to blend justice with fun, Sally sets joyfully about the business of removing the monsters from women’s lives, but is she in danger of becoming a monster herself?

As her friends in the police get ever closer, Sally has some serious questions of her own to answer.

Additional Maps of where An Implacable Woman is set: https://ktfindlay.com/an-implacable-woman-maps/

Purchase Links

US – https://www.amazon.com/K-T-Findlay/e/B07Z5CL9YS
UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/K-T-Findlay/e/B07Z5CL9YS
India - https://www.amazon.in/K-T-Findlay/e/B07Z5CL9YS

Review:

Sally Mellors has had enough of men abusing their wives. The cops can't protect them, the women can't protect themselves so it's up to her to end the violence... by disposing of these horrible husbands. In An Implacable Woman Sally takes matters into her own hands and plays on the fine line of being a protector and being an equally evil monster. 

Sally Mellors is our anti-hero in this story. She does bad things, but she does them for what she believes is a good reason. It's so hard not to root for her, even if you don't support what she is doing. I thought this story was well told and very interesting to read. I loved how the conflicting thoughts and emotions of some of the characters were displayed, especially from the police who felt compelled to catch her but not really wanting to because they hadn't been able to protect the women Sally was defending. The writing was good and descriptive. I would read more by this author.

Overall, I thought this was a pretty good read. It kept me interested enough where I was able to get through it within a couple days.

Author Bio


K.T. Findlay lives on a small farm where he dovetails his writing with fighting the blackberry and convincing the quadbike that killing its rider isn’t a vital part of its job description.

Social Media Links:

Webpage : www.ktfindlay.com
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0UIrcFBnHtHXQzbr37Ay-Q
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/KTFindlayauthor
Twitter : https://twitter.com/ktfindlay



Thursday, May 21, 2020

Captured by Her Enemy Knight by Nicole Locke REVIEW

Captured by Her Enemy Knight
by Nicole Locke


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

Falling for the man

Cressida Howe, the Archer, is a well-tuned weapon. But she’s also a woman captivated by a man—Eldric of Hawskmoor, the warrior knight her father ordered her to kill. Instead, for years, Cressida has simply watched him… Now she’s been captured by her formidable enemy, and her well-ordered world comes crashing down, for Eldric is even more compelling up close. Cressida curses her traitorous heart—this assassin has fallen for her target!


Purchase Links:

US - https://www.amazon.com/Captured-Enemy-Knight-Nicole-Locke-ebook/dp/B07ZVX9YPD

UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Captured-Enemy-Knight-Mills-Historical-ebook/dp/B07ZS72ZHS/

CAN - https://www.amazon.ca/Captured-Enemy-Knight-Nicole-Locke-ebook/dp/B07ZVX9YPD

https://www.harlequin.com/shop/books/9781335505552_captured-by-her-enemy-knight.html

Review:

Nicole Locke has done it again with intriguing characters, lots of action, adventure and of course, drama. Nicole manages to weave a tale that is sure to thrill from beginning to end. 

When Eldric of Hawskmoor finally catches The Archer, he is stunned to find out she is in fact a stunning woman. How could this woman be The Archer he loathed for so long? Now he just has to take her to the King for judgment and he can finally move on with his life.

I thought this story was very well told. There is enough action, adventure and suspense throughout the story to keep the reader entertained until the last page. It's very fast-paced and entertaining. The main characters felt like a great fit, they had a great balance of differences and similarities to make them mesh well. The backstories of the characters were worked in nicely to the story so that it didn't feel like an info-dump but rather a steady flow. 

Overall, it was an enjoyable read. I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical romance. 

Author Bio


Nicole first discovered romance novels hidden in her grandmother's closet. Convinced hidden books must be better, Nicole greedily read them. It was only natural she should start writing them (but now not so secretly).

If she isn't working on the next book in her historical series, she can be reached at NicoleLocke.com!

Social Media Links: 

https://www.nicolelocke.com

https://www.instagram.com/nicolelockeauthor

https://www.facebook.com/NicoleLockeAuthor

https://twitter.com/NicoleLockeNews

Giveaway:

Giveaway to Win 5 x PB copies of Captured By Her Enemy Knight (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494370/




Saturday, May 16, 2020

Questions of Persepctive REVIEW

Questions of Perspective
by Daniel Maunz


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

No one knew it at the time, but April 19, 2011, was the most important day in the history of the world.

After his only friend and colleague, John Manta, disappears without a word, Dave Randall further entrenches himself in the humdrum life of an unenthusiastic lawyer. But once he begins to understand what happened, he embarks on a journey to uncover the deeper meanings and implications of John's fate.

Accompanied by Peaches the cat, Dave uproots his life and reinvents himself in the midst of his search. Along the way, he is haunted by his piecemeal understanding of John's fate and what it means for his existence. Little does Dave know, his journey of self-discovery will have ramifications that extend far beyond the borders of his own little life.

Purchase Links

US - https://www.amazon.com/Questions-Perspective-Daniel-Maunz-ebook/dp/B087C5Y1CQ/
UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Questions-Perspective-Daniel-Maunz-ebook/dp/B087C5Y1CQ/
CAN - https://www.amazon.ca/Questions-Perspective-Daniel-Maunz-ebook/dp/B087C5Y1CQ/

Review:

Questions of Perspectives is not the book to sit down with when you are wanting a quick read you can fly through. It's the book you read when you want to sit down, take your time and slowly make your way through a journey. I'm not a fan of slow paced books, but this is one I couldn't help but enjoy from the first page to the last. 

Dave Randall is an unfulfilled lawyer just going through the motions of life. One day his only friend, John Manta, disappears without a trace. When Dave finally discovers what really happened to John it starts him on his own journey of self discovery. 

I absolutely adored this book. It was one of those reads that you just relax and float through. I loved the calm tone and steady pace. It's so well written. The trouble with slow paced novels is that they tend to become boring rather quickly. Thankfully, Daniel Maunz is able to keep you interested and entertained while keeping everything calm and slow. He did an absolutely wonderful job and I loved it. 

I think fans of The Shack by William Paul Young would enjoy this book. Both have an unusual representation of God that is meant to have the readers see situations from different perspectives and focus on a bigger picture than what you can immediately see.

Author Bio


When he is not writing, Daniel Maunz works as an attorney as in-house counsel for a major insurance company. He currently lives in Sullivan’s Island, South Carolina, with his wife Lynne, their son Patrick, and their two cats: Admiral Meowy McWhiskers and Captain Cutie (or "Admiral" and "Captain" for short). Questions of Perspective is his first novel.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/maunzdaniel/
Twitter: twitter.com/MaunzDaniel
Instagram: instagram.com/danielmaunz 


Friday, May 15, 2020

The Middle-Aged Virgin In Italy by Olivia Spring COVER REVEAL

The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy
(Book 2 of The Middle-Aged Virgin series)
by Olivia Spring


Hello all and welcome back! It's time for another awesome cover Reveal! Yay! I hope you all like it! 

Can a holiday romance lead to long-term love?

When Sophia moves to Tuscany to join the hot Italian-stallion she’s fallen head over heels in love with, she dreams of an idyllic life filled with passion, pasta, sunshine and her favourite gelato.

But will the reality live up to the fairy-tale?

The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy is a fun, sexy sequel about stepping out of your comfort zone and keeping the spark alive in a relationship. If you like Sophie Kinsella and Sophie Ranald, you’ll love the latest novel in Olivia Spring’s page-turning, romantic comedy series.

Pre-order today and get ready to join Sophia on her Italian adventures!

Pre-order Links

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B084YT5J1K/
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B084YT5J1K/
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B084YT5J1K/

The Middle-Aged Virgin, the first book in the series is available to read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited


☆☆


☆☆☆


☆☆☆☆


☆☆☆☆☆


☆☆☆☆


☆☆☆


☆☆




And.....

her it is

!!!



Author Bio

Olivia Spring is a British, London-based writer of contemporary women's fiction, sexy chick lit and romantic comedy. Her uplifting debut novel The Middle-Aged Virgin deals with being newly single after a long-term relationship, dating, love, sex, friendship and living life to the full.

Olivia published three novels in 2019: Only When It's Love, Losing My Inhibitions and Love Offline. The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy, the hotly anticipated sequel to her debut novel will be released in July 2020.

When she's not writing, Olivia can be found baking or making regular trips to Italy to indulge in pasta, pizza and gelato and of course, seeking inspiration for her next book!

https://twitter.com/ospringauthor

https://www.facebook.com/ospringauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/ospringauthor/

http://www.oliviaspring.com/

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/olivia-spring

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me by Gae Polisner REVIEW

Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
by Gae Polisner


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•

Synopsis:

Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival nights and hot summer days spent giggling with her forever best friend Aubrey about their families and boys. Together, they were unstoppable. But they aren't the friends they once were.

With JL's father gone on long term business, and her mother suffering from dissociative disorder, JL takes solace in the in the tropical butterflies she raises, and in her new, older boyfriend, Max Gordon. Max may be rough on the outside, but he has the soul of a poet (something Aubrey will never understand). Only, Max is about to graduate, and he's going to hit the road - with or without JL.

JL can't bear being left behind again. But what if devoting herself to Max not only means betraying her parents, but permanently losing the love of her best friend? What becomes of loyalty, when no one is loyal to you?

Purchase Links:


Review:

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Ok, so I've had a copy of this book for a few months now and I can't remember why I waited so long to read it. The synopsis really grabbed my attention when I first read it months ago and oh how I wish I had of read this sooner! This was such a raw, powerful and emotional read for me. Both the story and the characters were wonderfully written. JL was a perfect main character for this story. I absolutely adored her and my heart broke for her so many times. 

The story is mainly written in a letter to JL's best friend, Aubrey. Through this letter we get to know the girls as they were young friends and then watch them drift apart as they enter high school. JL gets a boyfriend, Aubrey gets new friends and all of a sudden they don't seem to fit into each others world anymore. I think this is something that a lot of people will relate to in the way that at least most of us have grown apart from a best friend and/or been betrayed by one. I thought their relationship was written so perfectly. It captured the essence of growing up in a very real way. There are other relationships addressed, such as with her mother, father, grandmother and boyfriend but I won't get into detail about those. All I'm going to say is they were all done fabulously as well.

Due to mature subject content and the type of issues presented in this book I'd recommend it to 14+. It was a good solid read for me.

Monday, May 11, 2020

PrintsField Personalized Socks Review

PrintsField Personalized Socks Review


I received this product for free in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinion expressed in this review are my own.

PrintsField is a site where you're able to take a picture of a face, it can be a persons or an animals, then you pick your background. PrintsField will then take the face you chose and place it on the background you chose and send you your very own personalized socks! They also have underwear for men and women and laptop sleeves you can personalize. It's the perfect place to get creative with that special gift for a special someone.

For my socks I chose to put a picture of my daughter on them because I thought it would be super cute. I was right and my daughter finds it hilarious that she is on a pair of socks. 

My first impression of the socks I received was "wow, how cool is this!?" The picture is really good, it looks like the actual picture. The quality is really good. The material is very soft. The socks are super comfortable when wearing them. I felt like they had the perfect amount of stretch to them. 

After washing them I found they were the same as when first received. They didn't fade, shrink or suffer any sort of damage or stress due to being washed. 

Overall, I was quite satisfied with the product. I'd recommend them if you're looking for a fun, personalized, unique gift. 

If you wish to order your own pair of personalized socks or one of there other super cute products, you can do so here >> https://printsfield.com/

For even more fun and savings use my code for 20% off! >> fourmoonreviews20

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Soul City Salvation by Jonathan LaPoma REVIEW

Soul City Salvation
by Jonathan LaPoma


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ—

Synopsis:

Ten months--that's how long twenty-six-year-old writer and aspiring actor Jay Sakovsky decides to stay and teach in the bohemian beach town of Soul City, California, to save up cash and overcome his anxiety before moving on to Hollywood.

But after several “friendly chats” with the vice principal about hangover sweats and black eyes from barroom brawls, Jay sees a therapist who helps him connect his self-destructive tendencies and artistic blocks to his undiagnosed OCD, setting him on a ten-year healing journey that drives him to near madness as he explores the limits of his heart, creativity, and psyche.

A surreal, darkly comic, and psychologically epic novel, The Soul City Salvation explores mental illness, friendship, aging, masculinity, modern love, the creative process, spiritual awakening, and fighting for respect in an uncaring world.

*The Soul City Salvation is the fifth book in a loosely-linked series, with Hammond, The Summer of Crud, Understanding the AlacrΓ‘n, and Developing Minds: An American Ghost Story as books one-four. Each novel can be read independently of the others.

Purchase Links:

Google Play - https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Jonathan_LaPoma_The_Soul_City_Salvation?id=JxHMDwAAQBAJ&hl=en


Review:

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

In Soul City Salvation we watch Jay Sakovsky as he works as a teacher while dealing with his mental illness. Jay has decided it's best if he can save up some money and try to calm his anxiety a bit before he chases his dreams of fame and fortune. While at first this seems like a great plan, Jay soon realizes maybe things will be a bit harder than he thought.

For me, Jay was a good main character. I was able to personally relate to him in a way that doesn't happen very often for me. He was very frantic, from his compulsions to making sure every door and window was locked several times to his over dramatic fear of asking his neighbor to turn their music down. We see Jay emphasize every aspect of day to day living. It isn't easy to read, and I'm sure some might find it over dramatized as mental illness can be hard to understand, however I thought it was wonderfully done.

The story itself was well told, and the writing was incredible. One of my favorite things about LaPoma's writing is how he creates these moments that connect with you on such a deep level. This is the second book of his I have read and both books have had moments that completely haulted me in that moment. His work is definitely not for the faint of heart; it is grungy, blunt, crude, dirty and anything but pretty. Yet, it's so freaking beautiful.

Sunday, April 26, 2020

Through Dust And Dreams by Roxana Valea EXTRACT

Through Dust and Dreams
by Roxana Valea

Synopsis:

At a crossroads in her life, Roxana decides to take a ten-day safari trip to Africa. In Namibia, she meets a local guide who talks about “the courage to become who you are” and tells her that “the world belongs to those who dream”.

Her holiday over, Roxana still carries the spell of his words within her soul. Six months later she quits her job and searches for a way to fulfil an old dream: crossing Africa from north to south. Teaming up with Richard and Peter, two total strangers she meets over the Internet, Roxana starts a journey that will take her and her companions from Morocco to Namibia, crossing deserts and war-torn countries and surviving threats from corrupt officials and tensions within their own group.

Through Dust and Dreams is the story of their journey: a story of courage and friendship, of daring to ask questions and search for answers, and of self-discovery on a long, dusty road south.

Purchase Links:
US - https://www.amazon.com/Through-Dust-Dreams-African-Adventure-ebook/dp/B00QZDP394/

Extract:

On their way south, Roxana and her travel mates cross Chad and have a less pleasant but nevertheless humorous encounter with police officer.

When we hit the tarmac at the end of a heavy drive along the feche road, we knew we were very close to the capital. A soldier, again judging by his gun, waved at the car to stop. I slowed down.

“What are you doing?” Peter looked at me.

“I’m stopping. He waved me to stop.”

“So what? He just wants a bribe. Just drive on.”

We were coming closer to the guy now. I was in doubt, but the memory of the other guy who stopped us just as we got out of Boll was still fresh. Maybe Peter was right.

“Do you think I should just drive on?”

“Yeah.”

This was coming from both of them and I felt they were right. I hit the accelerator. From the corner of my eye, I could see the surprised look of the soldier as we drove past and then I could see the rest in my back mirror: he suddenly swung around, pulled his gun off his shoulder and pointed it at us. I hit the brakes that very second. The whole car shook, and then eventually came to a stop in a few metres.

He was quite angry judging from the amount of yelling that came from the lower part of his face, hidden somewhere under the huge shawl that wrapped his head. He was yelling at us – surprisingly – in French, and demanded to see our documents. We gave him everything: passports, driving licences, insurance, the carnet1... everything.

“What were you doing? Why did you not stop? I know you saw me, I saw you looking at me!” he shouted at me.

What could I tell him? That I didn’t stop because I knew he would ask for a bribe?

“I wanted to stop,” I told him in the most docile voice I could find. “Only that…”

“Only that what?” he yelled back.

“Only that I hit the accelerator instead of the brake. I don’t know how it happened, I’m sorry. I did not mean to cause offence.”

I tried hard not to smile. To my right, Peter must have thought I had gone insane.

But I knew that this was a winning tactic. Playing the fragile woman who admits her incapacity always works in front of a macho type. The soldier seemed to swallow my explanation.

He was now busy going through our passports, and my travel mates got a sermon about why the UK should not have helped Bush invade Iraq. He then moved on to clarifying the next issue on his mind.

“Why are you driving?”

I knew what he meant but I couldn’t be bothered to think of an explanation.

He then asked my travel mates:

“You two in there, and a woman is driving? How did you let this happen?”

To him, this was as an insult to the manliness of my travel mates. Peter decided to serve him the full explanation.

“Because we’re on a very long journey, we all drive. We rotate. One of us drives every day. Today it is her turn to drive.”

It was beyond his understanding and obviously he did not get it. Peter gave up.

“Look at you, two men in this car, letting a woman drive. Who can understand…”

He went on for a while, but he didn’t get any more explanations so he turned to another subject, his main subject in fact, and the one that he had left until the end:

“You need to pay me 5000 CFA.”

It was useless to ask why. It was a bribe, just because he happened to be there, or just because he had a gun, or just because he held all our documents.

“No.”

This was in fact three “nos” combined into one. He asked again. We refused again. Then some mumbo jumbo started and Peter told him about our friend the Governor and our other friend the ambassador and somehow he believed us. Or maybe just didn’t know what to do with three white tourists who refused to pay a bribe.

As we drove on, I checked my back mirror again. His gun was pointing down this time. I couldn’t see his face, all wrapped up in his many layers, but I bet he had a doubtful expression. He might have learned two new things today: it was possible not to receive a bribe when you asked for one, and yes, women could drive. I wasn’t sure which one he found more puzzling.

As for us, we had just learned rule number three of surviving in Chad: when a man with a gun waves at you, you stop. Immediately.

1 The Carnet de Passages en Douane is a customs document that identifies a driver's motor vehicle. It is required in order to take a vehicle into a significant number of countries in Africa.

Author Bio


Roxana Valea was born in Romania and lived in Italy, Switzerland, England and Argentina before settling in Spain. She has a BA in journalism and an MBA degree. She spent more than twenty years in the business world as an entrepreneur, manager and management consultant working for top companies like Apple, eBay, and Sony. She is also a Reiki Master and shamanic energy medicine practitioner.

As an author, Roxana writes books inspired by real events. Her memoir Through Dust and Dreams is a faithful account of a trip she took at the age of twenty-eight across Africa by car in the company of two strangers she met over the internet. Her following book, Personal Power: Mindfulness Techniques for the Corporate World is a nonfiction book filled with personal anecdotes from her consulting years. The Polo Diaries series is inspired by her experiences as a female polo player--traveling to Argentina, falling in love, and surviving the highs and lows of this dangerous sport.

Roxana lives with her husband in Mallorca, Spain, where she writes, coaches, and does energy therapies, but her first passion remains writing.

Social Media Links:

Thursday, April 23, 2020

The Poor Relation by Susanna Bavin REVIEW

The Poor Relation
by Susanna Bavin


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

1908, Manchester. Mary Maitland is an attractive and intelligent young woman determined to strike out on her own and earn a living. Finding work at a women’s employment agency, her creative talent is soon noticed and Mary begins writing articles for newspapers and magazines.

But being of independent and progressive mind are troublesome traits when those you hold dear must constantly live up to the expectations of the well-to-do family to which they are linked. With increasing pressures from the powers that be, can Mary find the fine line between honouring her family and honouring herself?

Purchase Links:

Review:

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

The Poor Relation is a historical fantasy that I simply couldn't wait to sink my teeth into. Unfortunately, I found it difficult to get into and was just under halfway through before I became genuinely interested in the story. Once I hit that point, however, I just became so hooked and was unable to put the book down. I really liked Mary as a main character once I got into the story. For the time that she lived in, she was so bold and outspoken. The rest of the characters were completely fine, however, none of them really stood out above the rest. Overall, the ending saved the story as it put a nice little wrap up on certain misfortunes. 

All things considered, this would be good for someone who enjoys historical fiction and doesn't mind a slow start.

Author Bio


Susanna Bavin has worked as a librarian, an infant school teacher, a carer and a cook. She lives on the beautiful North Wales coast, but her writing is inspired by her Mancunian roots. She also writes as Polly Heron.

Social Media Links

Website: http://www.susannabavin.co.uk/

Art and Soul by Claire Huston PROMO

Art & Soul
by Claire Huston


Synopsis:

There’s no problem Becky Watson can’t fix. Except her own love life…

Struggling single mother Becky Watson longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage.

So when semi-reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump, she’s delighted to set him up with a come-back exhibition and Rachel Stone, the woman of his dreams.

Though they get off to a rocky start, Becky and Charlie soon become close. But as the beautiful Rachel becomes Charlie’s muse, Becky is forced to wonder: will giving Charlie everything he wants mean giving up her own happily ever after?

A heart-warming, uplifting romance served with a generous slice of cake. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Katie Fforde and Cathy Kelly.
Purchase Link: http://getbook.at/ClaireHustonAandS

Author Bio


Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. Art and Soul is her first novel.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul at www.clairehuston.co.uk along with over 100 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

Social Media Links:




Friday, April 17, 2020

In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety by Krysten Lindsay Hager

In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety
by Krysten Lindsay Hager


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

Cecily wants a big life, but can she handle it?

Cecily Taylor Damone feels like she has it all: great best friends, the beginnings of a career as a model/actress, and she's dating her favorite singer, Andrew Holiday. Just when it seems like all her dreams are coming true, everything comes crashing down when a photo of Andrew with another girl appears online. He swears nothing happened, but Cecily is crushed. She feels like she lost two of the people closest to her.

Was her perfect relationship real, or was she in over her head?

Purchase Links:


Review:

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own. 

This is the second book in the Cecily Taylor Series. In this installment we pick up right where the first book, Can Dreams Come True? finishes. In this book we get to experience more of Cecily's relationships with Andrew, her friends and even her family members.

Once again, Krysten delivers us an innocent and sweet read as we continue on in the life of Cecily Taylor. I really enjoyed how we focus not only on Cecily and Andrew's relationship but also on the relationships with her friends. The characters were fine. My favorite character though, would have to be Cecily's dad. To me he seemed like the perfect father type for this story. He was funny and caring and I just loved him. I feel like this book could be read as a standalone. However, reading the first book would allow you to really get to know the characters better especially some that are more supporting characters in this book than the first one.

I was pleasantly surprised to find how much more I enjoyed this book in comparison to the first book. However, I found myself being concerned about the unhealthy relationship aspects it portrayed.

Overall, this was a good sequel. I recommend this to anyone looking for a sweet, innocent YA read. I think teenagers who want to read something that still has the cute boy but leaves out the sex would enjoy this series.

Author Bio


Krysten Lindsay Hager writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends...Forever?, Next Door to a Star, Landry in Like, Competing with the Star, Dating the It Guy, Can Dreams Come True, and In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety . True Colors won the Readers Favorite award for best preteen book as well as the Dayton Book Expo Bestseller Award for children/teens. Best Friends…Forever won the Readers’ Favorite Silver Medal. Competing with the Star is a Readers' Favorite Book Award Finalist. Landry in Like is a Literary Classics Gold Medal recipient.

Krysten's work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Bellbrook Times, Springfield News-Sun, Grand Blanc View, Dayton Daily News and on the talk show Living Dayton.

Follow Krysten Lindsay Hager
Website: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/
Sign up for my newsletter: https://krystenlindsay.us8.list-manage.com/subscribe




Thursday, April 16, 2020

Can Dreams Come True? by Krysten Lindsay Hagar

Can Dreams Come True?
by Krysten Lindsay Hager


πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘

Synopsis:

Cecily has always had a huge crush on singer Andrew Holiday and she wants to be an actress, so she tags along when her friend auditions for his new video. However, the director isn’t looking for an actress, but rather the girl next door—and so is Andrew. Cecily gets a part in the video and all of Andrew’s attention on the set. Her friend begins to see red and Cecily’s boyfriend is seeing green—as in major jealousy. A misunderstanding leaves Cecily and her boyfriend on the outs and Andrew hopes to pick up the pieces as he’s looking for someone more stable in his life than the models he’s dated. Soon Cecily begins to realize Andrew understands her more than her small-town boyfriend—but can her perfect love match really be her favorite rock star?

Purchase Links:

Review:

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Every young girl has that one celebrity that they crush on more than all the others. For Cecily that crush is Andrew Holiday, the sweet and sensitive pop star. When Cecily unexpectedly gets a part in Andrew's new video as an extra, it seems as though she will have a chance to meet her ultimate crush. This makes her boyfriend Zach jealous but there's no need because nothing could ever happen between Cecily and her ultimate crush.. could it?

This was such an innocent read. It's perfect for the young high school girls who want to read about a sweet romance. Our entire story takes place during High School giving off feelings of nostalgia and freedom. The characters are typical high school students with typical high school problems and relationships. The romance between Cecily and Andrew was sweet. The romance between Cecily and Zach was not cute. The way Zach displays a "my feelings matter and yours don't" way of thinking is a bit of concern. I get that these are high school students and things are different in high school, but I was glad when Cecily decided to stay away from that mess. 

Overall, this book is a sweet, innocent romance. If you're into that type of story I recommend this book. I think any high school girl would connect with this story, the characters and the situations they find themselves in.

Author Bio


Krysten Lindsay Hager writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends...Forever?, Next Door to a Star, Landry in Like, Competing with the Star, Dating the It Guy, Can Dreams Come True, and In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety . True Colors won the Readers Favorite award for best preteen book as well as the Dayton Book Expo Bestseller Award for children/teens. Best Friends…Forever won the Readers’ Favorite Silver Medal. Competing with the Star is a Readers' Favorite Book Award Finalist. Landry in Like is a Literary Classics Gold Medal recipient.

Krysten's work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Bellbrook Times, Springfield News-Sun, Grand Blanc View, Dayton Daily News and on the talk show Living Dayton.

Follow Krysten Lindsay Hager
Website: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/
Sign up for my newsletter: https://krystenlindsay.us8.list-manage.com/subscribe




The Greenbecker Gambit by Ben Graff REVIEW

The Greenbecker Gambit by Ben Graff πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ•πŸŒ‘πŸŒ‘ Synopsis: ‘I only feel truly alive when the chess clock is ticking and the patterns on the sq...