Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Please Remember Me by Florence Keeling SPOTLIGHT

Please Remember Me
by Florence Keeling


Blurb

Inheriting a run down house from a stranger isn’t exactly the present Laura had expected for her 30th birthday. Especially when the house in question holds memories of a frightening encounter from her prom night fourteen years ago…

So when a man starts appearing in the house her first thought is that she must be dreaming. But Ben is very real indeed and somehow linked to an antique mirror and another life in 1942.

As their friendship blossoms, Laura learns more about the house and its history…and even discovers some surprises about her own destiny.

With her future foretold, Laura must find a way to alter destiny. But how can you change the future if it’s already written in the past?

Purchase Links:

UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Please-Remember-Me-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B0B325J7BT

US - https://www.amazon.com/Please-Remember-Me-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B0B325J7BT

CAN - https://www.amazon.ca/Please-Remember-Me-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B0B325J7BT


Author Bio

I was born in Coventry but now live in Nuneaton. I married the love of my life over 20 years ago and we have two almost grown up children. We share our lives with two mad dogs as well.

Writing is a great passion of mine, that one day I hope to be able to turn into a career but until that day comes, I will continue working in accounts and payroll.

I also write for children as Lily Mae Walters.

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/florence.keeling.7

Twitter - https://twitter.com/KeelingFlorence

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/florence.keeling/

Monday, August 1, 2022

Tasmanian Gothic by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky REVIEW

Tasmanian Gothic
by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Solari wasn’t alive when the ozone layer split like a gutted fish above Tasmania and spilled radiation over the edge of the stratosphere, but she’s living with the consequences—the mutations, the gangland war, and the border wall that divides the affluent North from the contaminated South. Orphaned and alone in the southern reaches, Solari survives the chaos the only way she knows how: cooking the wildly addictive snowrock for local crime lord, Worcsulakz, and avoiding the mutants that skulk in the lush, untamed wilderness of the Fringes.

But, when her junkie ex-boyfriend puts Solari more firmly in Worcsulakz’s debt, she runs—escaping the promise of violent retribution with a stolen van and a pair of giant wings cleaved from a mutant moth. Grafting the wings to her body disguises Solari as one of Tasmania’s most reviled and hunted, but grants her refuge in the one place Worcsulakz won’t look for her—a mutant enclave.

There, Solari will form an unlikely alliance with another mutant and commence the dangerous journey through gangland strongholds and carnival towns to get to the Border Wall in the north. Hunted by Worcsulakz, the hidden terrors of the Fringes, the secrets in her family’s past, and the deception at the core of her fragile alliance, Solari will need to confront them all or stay condemned to a life of loneliness and brutality.

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

A dystopian world with mutants? What else could I possibly ask for?

Solari has a large debt with a local crime lord that she didn't accumulate. She is forced to work for this crime lord and if she doesn't the consequences are severe. In an act of desperation Solari decides to run and hide in the only place she can think of. She soon finds herself in an unlikely alliance and uncovers secrets that could change everything.

I really enjoyed the story although, I wish it would have had more mutant action. I found there wasn't really all that much happening involving the actual mutants other than what was absolutely required for story progression. For me this felt like crime fiction meets dystopia. It isn't my favorite combo but in this case I feel like it really worked.

Solari was a well done main character. She was interesting to watch as she grew as a person. Her character unfolded like new wings and she picks herself back up from even the most darkest of circumstances.

I'd recommend this to anyone who is looking for a dark dystopian with a touch of mutation.

Saturday, July 30, 2022

The Insomniac by Miranda Rijks Review

The Insomniac

Miranda Rijks


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Daisy can’t sleep. But the cure is her worst nightmare.

Daisy hasn’t had a good night’s sleep in years. Her chronic insomnia has gotten so bad, it’s affecting her job as a journalist. So she’s delighted when she’s asked to review a new, luxurious sleep clinic - this could be the answer to her prayers.

At first, everything about the clinic seems perfect – the stunning seaside location, the beautiful rooms, the exquisite cuisine.

Clinic owner and chief therapist, Amity, is sure she can cure Daisy’s insomnia by uncovering its root cause. But to do that, she’ll use hypnosis to probe deep into Daisy’s past. And that’s not good – because Daisy has a terrible secret.

As Amity digs into her mind, Daisy feels more and more vulnerable. She begins to think there is something off about the clinic. Is her insomnia making her paranoid or does Amity have her own sinister agenda?

Fearing the past has finally caught up with her, Daisy wonders if she should just leave. But that’s not so easy – because this clinic, which was supposed to offer rest and safety, is the most terrifying place she’s ever been…

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

This was quite an entertaining read. While it wasn't hard to figure out the twists before they happened, the journey getting there was well written and interesting. It was fun to be a fly on the wall and watch everything play out.

I really enjoy a well done crazy character and I was not disappointed! The attention to detail in both the characters and the setting was great. Everything was so easy to imagine, it's like a movie in your head.

I would recommend this to someone who is looking for a low-impact but entertaining thriller. Especially those who are into reading about sleep and insomnia.

Tuesday, July 26, 2022

We Spread by Iain Reid REVIEW

 We Spread

by Iain Reid


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb:

Penny, an artist, has lived in the same apartment for decades, surrounded by the artifacts and keepsakes of her long life. She is resigned to the mundane rituals of old age, until things start to slip. Before her longtime partner passed away years earlier, provisions were made, unbeknownst to her, for a room in a unique long-term care residence, where Penny finds herself after one too many “incidents.”

Initially, surrounded by peers, conversing, eating, sleeping, looking out at the beautiful woods that surround the house, all is well. She even begins to paint again. But as the days start to blur together, Penny—with a growing sense of unrest and distrust—starts to lose her grip on the passage of time and on her place in the world. Is she succumbing to the subtly destructive effects of aging, or is she an unknowing participant in something more unsettling?

Expected Publication Date: Sept. 9, 2022

Review:

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for my review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Iain Reid has been on my TBR for awhile, but this is my first time reading his work. Now that I have I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to experience such an amazing storyteller.

In 'We Spread' we follow Penny, an elderly woman whose long term partner passed away a few years ago. After a fall Penny moves into a long-term care residence where she doesn't remember agreeing to go but soon makes friends with other residents. When she starts to feel uneasy about the residence it's hard to tell if she is having difficulties due to aging or if the residence may not be the safe place she thought. Told from Penny's point of view We Spread will seep into your soul as it messes with your mind giving you a taste of fear you won't soon forget.

Wow...

To start the writing is so eerie and delicious! The story is incredibly written with tender moments swirled in with confusion and fear. When Penny was happy I was happy, when Penny was afraid I felt her fear. My emotions were bounced around as the chapters progressed and suddenly I was just as unsure as Penny about how I was supposed to feel. What an absolutely stunning portrayl of someone facing the end of their lives. I really can't say enough how incredible literally everything about this book is.

Reid did an amazing job with this one. If you want a story that messes with your emotions and scares you in a completely realistic way then give this one a shot.

Sunday, July 24, 2022

Everything is OK by Debbie Tung REVIEW

 Everything is OK

by Debbie Tung


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb

Everything Is OK is the story of Debbie Tung’s struggle with anxiety and her experience with depression. She shares what it’s like navigating life, overthinking every possible worst-case scenario, and constantly feeling like all hope is lost.

The book explores her journey to understanding the importance of mental health in her day-to-day life and how she learns to embrace the highs and lows when things feel out of control. Debbie opens up about deeply personal issues and the winding road to recovery, discovers the value of self-love, and rebuilds a more mindful relationship with her mental health.

In this graphic memoir, Debbie aims to provide positive and comforting messages to anyone who is facing similar difficulties or is just trying to get through a tough time in life. She hopes to encourage readers to be kinder to themselves, to know that they are not alone, and that it’s okay to be vulnerable because they are not defined by their mental health struggles. The dark clouds won’t be there forever. Everything will turn out all right.

Expected Publication Date: September 6, 2022

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Everything is OK is a story of depression in graphic novel format. Throughout Debbie's journey we watch as she begins her struggle with depression and anxiety, seeks help and ultimately learns how to cope with the difficulties associated with these mental health issues.

This is so beautifully written. I think the author does an amazing job at illustrating and communicating the difficulties those dealing with depression and anxiety face in their everyday lives. Keeping everything simple yet well explained 'Everything is OK' is a great book for someone who is trying to understand depression and anxiety.

Saturday, July 9, 2022

My Little Brother by Diane Saxon REVIEW

My Little Brother
by Diane Saxon


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Two siblings, both missing for 20 years turn up within one day of each other. One dead. One alive.

It was an ordinary school day, the day I lost my little brother.

One moment he was on the roundabout and then was gone. Gone. Missing.

They all blamed me. I was in charge. Even though I was only ten years old.

They sent me away. The hurt, the shame, the questions. The not knowing.

I tried to move on.

It’s been nineteen years in exile and now somebody wants me back.

Someone with a dark secret. They hold the keys, they know the truth.

So, I need to return to the Welsh village of my childhood to find out who, because I have a secret, too…

I did something bad.

Purchase Link - https://amzn.to/3sdQ4qJ

Review

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources and Diane Saxon for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

This was a pretty good book despite its slower start. It picked up at around 60% of the way through and the ending was totally worth it.

I did find a lot of things predictable but there were a couple of things I wasn't expecting. The biggest shocks in this book aren't necessarily the 'who' but more of the 'why'. The 'why' is where author twists things around to get those surprises in.

Let's talk characters. There are a few dislikeable characters in here that are so well written they just anger me. Which I'm guessing they are supposed to, so mission accomplished! My heart totally went out to the main character. I was angry and upset for her and the things she dealt with.

Overall, it's a pretty good mystery. Trigger warnings for child death and abuse, so if don't want to read about those things maybe don't pick this up. However, if you are fine reading about those topics and you're looking for a dark mystery give this one a shot.

Author Bio


Diane Saxon previously wrote romantic fiction for the US market but has now turned to writing psychological crime. Find Her Alive was her first novel in this genre and introduced series character DS Jenna Morgan. She is married to a retired policeman and lives in Shropshire.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authordianesaxon

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Diane_Saxon



Thursday, July 7, 2022

Pastel Pink by Nikki Minty REVIEW

 Pastel Pink

by Nikki Minty


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb

From one ending comes a new beginning…

Ruby was murdered on Earth eighteen years ago and reincarnated on Zadok as a Pastel Zeek named Harlow. To be born at the bottom of her race’s caste colour system to a middle-class family of Magentas has made Harlow a source of conflict amongst the ruling Purples, and a source of derision from all three colours.

When Harlow is attacked by a fuegor on Zadok, the effects of its slow reacting venom triggers an unforeseen phenomenon, and due to the strong connection she had with her former twin sister Jade, her human spirit is unexpectedly drawn back to Earth.

Now living a double life, she has plunged into a world of intrigue on both planets.

On earth, she watches on in horror as Jade reconnects with Lucas, the man who murdered her and got away with it. And to complicate things further, she’s being pursued by Alex, the ghost of Lucas’ twin. On Zadok, she becomes embroiled with Jax, the son of the Commanding family. He’s determined to bring about change to the colony’s colour system, but it’ll come at a cost.

As Harlow mixes with the political intrigue of the Zeeks, will she become a victim of those trying to rigidly maintain the status quo or will she usher in a revolution?

And will ghost Ruby resist the temptation of the handsome Alex or pursue an impossible relationship that could have dire consequences on both planets?

Review

First of all, how is this book not more popular? With such an interesting and well executed concept I really don't think this book is getting anywhere near the attention it deserves.

In Pastel Pink we live on the planet Zadok, a place where people reincarnate to when they die on Earth. Ruby was murdered on Earth eighteen years ago and reincarnated as our main character Harlow. When Harlow's human spirit is suddenly able to visit her twin sister, Jade, while Harlow sleeps, she finds Jade unknowingly getting closer to her murderer. With Harlow being unable to communicate with Jade she must watch helplessly as this tainted friendship continues. Oh and if that isn't enough, there's also a color system on Zadok. Pastel being the lowest, Magenta in the middle and Purple at the top. With Harlow being a Pastel born into a family of Magenta's the last thing she needs is to get in trouble in both worlds, especially after she is befriended by an important purple.

I loved this, it had everything my little heart could have ever hoped for and more. The writing is enchanting, the characters are fleshed out into beings you actually care about, the world building is incredible, the book is an absolute masterpiece. There's Suspense, fear, action, drama and a cliffhanger that throws a gut punch before leaving you there to deal with the havoc it just created in your soul.

I couldn't adore this book more. If you're into Paranormal sci-fi with the tiniest touch of romance I'd highly recommend treating yourself with Pastel Pink.

Sunday, July 3, 2022

Please Join Us by Catherine McKenzie REVIEW

 Please Join Us

by Catherine McKenzie

๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ—๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

At thirty-nine, Nicole Mueller’s life is on the rocks. Her once brilliant law career is falling apart. She and her husband, Dan, are soon to be forced out of the apartment they love. After a warning from her firm’s senior partners, she receives an invitation from an exclusive women’s networking group, Panthera Leo. Membership is anonymous, but every member is a successful professional. It sounds like the perfect solution to help Nicole revive her career. So, despite Dan’s concerns that the group might be a cult, Nicole signs up for their retreat in Colorado.

Once there, she meets the other women who will make up her Pride. A CEO, an actress, a finance whiz, a congresswoman: Nicole can’t believe her luck. The founders of Panthera Leo are equally as impressive. They explain the group’s core philosophy: they’re a girl’s club in a boy’s club world.

Nicole is all in. And when she gets home, she soon sees dividends. Her new network quickly provides her with clients that help her relaunch her career, and a great new apartment too. The favors she has to provide in return seem benign. But then she’s called to the congresswoman’s apartment late at night where she’s pressed into helping her cover up a crime. And suddenly, Dan’s concerns that something more sinister is at play seem all too relevant. Can Nicole extricate herself from the group before it’s too late? Or will joining Panthera Leo be the biggest mistake of her life?

Expected Publication Day: August 23, 2022

Review

Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for a free copy if this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

I would describe this book as "Mean Girls cult edition." The characters are completely unlikeable, even the nice one who we're supposed to like is annoying. The side characters just fell flat for me. There was absolutely no one in this book I actually cared about.

I liked how relentless the women of the pride were. They always seemed to be two steps ahead with every problem anticipated. I feel like this is also why the ending wrapped up too quickly to be pleasing. Here we have these incredibly smart and hooked up women who created a plan that required so much careful planning and timing they were somehow outsmarted as soon as our main character realizes there's a problem. The entire solution happens in a very small portion of the book without the main character facing any issues that weren't solved immediately. I felt this book was missing the excitement. It was a fine read, just not one that put me on the edge of my seat.

With all that said, I have to admit I was genuinely entertained. The storyline was interesting enough where I wanted to watch things play out despite having a pretty clear idea of what was going to happen. This book is definitely worth the read, what it lacks in suspense it makes up for in entertainment.

Thursday, June 16, 2022

Who Do You Think You Are Maggie Pink? by Janet Hoggarth REVIEW

 Who Do You Think You Are Maggie Pink?

by Janet Hoggarth


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Maggie is a mother to a stroppy teenager, a wife to a befuddled husband, and a daughter to two very different women. She has always known she’s adopted, but has she ever understood what that means? Not really. Following the death of her mother, Maggie finally feels able to go in search of her birth mother Morag, and heads to the Highlands of Scotland with her disgruntled daughter Roxie in tow, leaving her crumbling marriage to worry about another day. The family reunion is bittersweet, but everything is blown wide open when Roxie unearths Morag’s explosive teenage diaries. Why did Morag give Maggie away? What really happened all those years ago, and how have the echoes of the past resounded through the generations, like ripples in a puddle? And when all the secrets and promises are out in the open, will Maggie finally have an answer to the question – who do you think you are Maggie Pink?

Purchase Links

https://amzn.to/3uF3D2U

Review

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources and the author for having me on this blog tour and my gifted copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Maggie Pink was placed up for adoption at birth. When she finds herself with both parents gone and a not so great relationship with her own daughter, Maggie decides to explore her roots and find her birth mom. Secrets are revealed and betrayals are uncovered. Can Maggie finally fix what is broken in her life or will everything completely fall apart for good?

This was such an enjoyable read for me. I felt like I got to know and connect with all the important characters on a personal level. Getting to hear their backstories and finding out what made them who they are really added depth and understanding to each one of them. The story itself was enjoyable and realistic. The pacing was perfect keeping the story moving steadily without information dumping or dragging. I was completely captured into the story and wrapped up in the characters. Reading this book was simply a wonderful experience.

There is a lot of heavy content and generational trauma in this book. I think the author did a great job at fleshing out these characters and their individual struggles. The story is heartwarming and bittersweet. If you're looking for a book to touch your heart and leave you feeling satisfied this is certainly a good option.

Author Bio


Janet Hoggarth is the number one bestselling author of The Single Mums’ Mansion and the highly successful Single Mums’ subsequent series. She has worked on a chicken farm, as a bookseller, a children’s book editor, a children’s author, and as a DJ (under the name of Whitney and Britney!). She
lives with her family in East Dulwich, London. Her first book for Boldwood will be published in 2022.
 
Social Media Links
 
Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/JanetHoggarthnews

Saturday, June 11, 2022

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire REVIEW

 Every Heart a Doorway

by Seanan McGuire

๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced... they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Review

I absolutely adore this series! The first time I read it I binged the entire thing in under a week. Naturally all the books blended together so I'm rereading them to properly review them. (I know, it's literally the perfect excuse to reread them again so soon!)

This book is everything I never knew I needed. I love the idea of a world where a door can just appear and inside the door is a world where you fit perfectly. When the children have to leave their worlds for whatever reason the way their feelings are described sounds to me like the ache you get from missing a dream you wish was reality.

Describing my thoughts and feelings about this book is so difficult because I simply love it. There's something about it and the entire series that just has me completely captivated.

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness REVIEW

 A Monster Calls

by Patrick Ness


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting-- he's been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he's had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It's ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd-- whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself-- Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.

Review

My heart was just destroyed. This book is absolutely incredible. It is so beautifully written with amazing insight of grief and the complexity of human nature. Patrick Ness is able to capture the pain of grief in a truly remarkable way. Anyone who has ever lost someone close in their lives will relate to the despair and desperation of these characters. I ugly cried three separate times before I was able to finish it.

Everything in this book just fits so well together. The dark pictures throughout the book enhance the gloominess and despair of the story despite the actions of the main character.

A Monster Calls is an insanely well told novel that will shatter your heart in a million pieces. If you're looking for something to completely destroy you I recommend picking up this one.

Monday, June 6, 2022

The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling REVIEW

The Ex Hex
by Erin Sterling


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Nine years ago, Vivienne Jones nursed her broken heart like any young witch would: vodka, weepy music, bubble baths…and a curse on the horrible boyfriend. Sure, Vivi knows she shouldn’t use her magic this way, but with only an “orchard hayride” scented candle on hand, she isn’t worried it will cause him anything more than a bad hair day or two.

That is until Rhys Penhallow, descendent of the town’s ancestors, breaker of hearts, and annoyingly just as gorgeous as he always was, returns to Graves Glen, Georgia. What should be a quick trip to recharge the town’s ley lines and make an appearance at the annual fall festival turns disastrously wrong. With one calamity after another striking Rhys, Vivi realizes her silly little Ex Hex may not have been so harmless after all.

Suddenly, Graves Glen is under attack from murderous wind-up toys, a pissed off ghost, and a talking cat with some interesting things to say. Vivi and Rhys have to ignore their off the charts chemistry to work together to save the town and find a way to break the break-up curse before it’s too late.

Review

When heartbroken Vivienne Jones casts a small spell on her ex she never expects anything major to happen. And nothing major does until years later when Rhys Penhallow returns to town for a simple recharge and festival appearance. Now all of a sudden the town is under attack and Vivi finds out her hex may not be as harmless as she first thought.

This was so good! I thought the story was light and fun with the perfect amount of adult entertainment. The characters were incredibly charming and delightful. The relationship between Vivi and Rhys was so cute. Their back and forth banter was absolutely perfect!

The only thing I thought could have been done differently was the conflict resolution. It seemed slightly rushed and a little too simple at the end.

I absolutely adored the fun 90's witchy vibes. My first impression was this is the literary equivalent to Halloweentown for adults and I am living for it. Think Hocus Pocus, Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Halloweentown all rolled up into one glorious bundle of laughs, spells and kisses.

Overall, this was a great time. It's perfect for October or any time you want a fun Halloween fix. I now need to find more books like this one.

Friday, June 3, 2022

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover REVIEW

 It Ends With Us

by Colleen Hoover


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up
— she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan — her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

Review

The main thing I found when reading this book is how majorly cringy it is. From characters names to the relationships themselves there were so many "wtf seriously?" moments. Beginning with Lilly Blosson Bloom wannabe florist and our main character it really just stays at a steady cringe through a good portion of the book. And, I'm just going to say it. Lilly and Ryle's relationship is so cringy it gives me secondhand embarrassment. I just... yuck.. no thanks. At one point he monitors her heartbeat while he pleasures her so he can get her heart up to a 140 bpm, like what?

So why keep reading if I spent most of the book shaking my head? Well, because mixed in with all that is the story of a woman who watched her mother suffer from abuse at the hands of her father and how that impacted her life as she got older. This book really is more than a woman chosing between two men. This is a book where actions have consequences and where sometimes rainbows are hard to find. Yes, this book has so many cringy parts, but there are also funny parts, sad parts and even scary parts. So would I give this book 5 stars? No, I actually gave it 3 stars. But would I say this book is worth reading? Yes, what it does wrong doesn't cancel out what it does right and this book shines a rare light on abuse and the impact it takes on those involved.

Monday, May 30, 2022

You Made a Fool of Death With Your Beauty by Akwaeke Emezi REVIEW

You Made a Fool of Death With Your Beauty
by Akwaeke Emezi


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ—๐ŸŒ‘

Blurb

Feyi Adekola wants to learn how to be alive again.

It’s been five years since the accident that killed the love of her life and she’s almost a new person now—an artist with her own studio, and sharing a brownstone apartment with her ride-or-die best friend, Joy, who insists it’s time for Feyi to ease back into the dating scene. Feyi isn’t ready for anything serious, but a steamy encounter at a rooftop party cascades into a whirlwind summer she could have never imagined: a luxury trip to a tropical island, decadent meals in the glamorous home of a celebrity chef, and a major curator who wants to launch her art career.

She’s even started dating the perfect guy, but their new relationship might be sabotaged before it has a chance by the dangerous thrill Feyi feels every time she locks eyes with the one person in the house who is most definitely off-limits. This new life she asked for just got a lot more complicated, and Feyi must begin her search for real answers. Who is she ready to become? Can she release her past and honor her grief while still embracing her future? And, of course, there’s the biggest question of all—how far is she willing to go for a second chance at love?

Akwaeke Emezi’s vivid and passionate writing takes us deep into a world of possibility and healing, and the constant bravery of choosing love against all odds.

Review

Thank you to Simon & Schuster for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

You Made a Fool of Death With Your Beauty begins with a slap. It starts off so vulgar and hard and in your face and then blooms and softens into a heartbreaking love story.

In all honesty this book took me so long to get through and I'm not quite sure why. The writing was good, the story was good, the characters were good, I just really struggled to focus. Maybe if I had of read this at a different time I may have been able to get through it easier.

What I love about Akwaeke Emezi’s writing is how unapologetically sexual and sensual they can be. The sex scenes are spicy and the sexual tension is strong. Emezi writes about sex as a normal human occurrence rather than something to be hidden or embarrassed by. They open up sexual experiences in a way that shows sex as a natural form of human connections. I will say that after the first chapter or two I was expecting more explicit content than what was actually in the book.

Saturday, May 28, 2022

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill AUDIOBOOK REVIEW

The Woman in the Library
by Sulari Gentill
narrated by Katherine Littrell


Blurb

In every person's story, there is something to hide...

The ornate reading room at the Boston Public Library is quiet, until the tranquility is shattered by a woman's terrified scream. Security guards take charge immediately, instructing everyone inside to stay put until the threat is identified and contained. While they wait for the all-clear, four strangers, who'd happened to sit at the same table, pass the time in conversation and friendships are struck. Each has his or her own reasons for being in the reading room that morning—it just happens that one is a murderer.

Award-winning author Sulari Gentill delivers a sharply thrilling read with The Woman in the Library, an unexpectedly twisty literary adventure that examines the complicated nature of friendship and shows us that words can be the most treacherous weapons of all.

Expected Publication Date: June 7, 2022

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this audio book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

So I kept seeing posts about this book all over social media. I've heard a lot of good things and just had to check it out for myself.

Unfortunately, for me this book just didn't hold up and I don't understand the hype. I mean it's fine, but it's not anything that stuck out to me or that will stay with me. I finished it, was like okay that's done and now I'm already forgetting it. I managed to finish the audio book but if I had of had to physically read it I probably wouldn't have finished.

The narrator seemed to fit the story quite well. Her voice and tones fit the story perfectly. Katherine Littrell did a good job making the characters distinguishable from each other making the storyline easier to follow, which given that it's a story about a story was super helpful.

Thursday, May 26, 2022

Summer's End by Kristy Brown SPOTLIGHT

Summer's End
by Kristy Brown


Summer's End is the first of the YA Paranormal Romance trilogy which is free on KU. She wakes up in hospital, badly burned with no memory.
He’s been trained to kill her before she burns the world to ashes.

When they finally meet, will he be able to take her life now that he’s started to feel for her?

His fate is already written. The prophecy is already set… Love between them is forbidden.

Purchase Links:
 

CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Summers-End-Summer-Solstice-1-ebook/dp/B098T9NW59

Author Bio


Hi I'm Kristy and I live in the U.K. I have always written short stories and poetry. I went to university to study acting which I loved, but my real passion has always been writing. So, now I write the kind of stories I would have wanted to read as a teen. "Kiera's Quest- part one & two," a Middle-grade/ teen fantasy series, is now available on e-book and paperback. If you like shape shifters, magical realms and a chosen one, then this may be for you!

My YA contemporary romance book, "Just Sam," about a young tennis star who loses someone important and has to trust in life and love again, is available on Amazon in print & on Kindle, as is my YA/NA fairy-tale retelling, "Cinderfella."​ Cinderfella has all roles reversed and is aimed slightly older, as there is a little passion and darkness to this tale, but still keeps the magic of the original.
I also have a YA Paranormal Romance trilogy, 'The Summer Solstice series.' "Summer's End," book one, "Summer's Lost" (2) and "Summer's Time," are all available on Amazon and Kindle Unlimited, as are all my titles. I love reading of course. I have lots of new projects in mind, and I'm currently working on a retelling of Romeo and Juliet.

Socials:


Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Game of Strength and Storm by Rachel Menard REVIEW

Game of Strength and Storm
by Rachel Menard


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Blurb

Once a year, the Olympian Empresses grant the wishes of ten people selected by a lottery—for a price. Seventeen-year-old Gen, a former circus performer, wants the freedom of her father, who was sentenced to life in prison for murders she knows he didn’t commit. Castor plans to carry the island Arcadia into the future in place of her brother, Pollux, but only after the Empresses force a change in her island’s archaic laws that requires a male heir.

To get what they want, Gen and Castor must race to complete the better half of ten nearly impossible labors. They have to catch the fastest ship in the sea, slay the immortal Hydra, defeat a gangster called the Boar, and capture the flesh-eating Mares, among other deadly tasks.

Gen has her magic, her ability to speak to animals, her inhuman strength—and the help of Pollux, who’s been secretly pining for her for years. But Castor has her own gifts: the power of the storms, along with endless coin. Only one can win. The other walks away with nothing—if she walks away at all.

Expected Publication Date: June 7, 2022

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Well shit.. that was an interesting ride. I had so much fun reading this. Once I started reading it I was hooked instantly. I ended up reading the entire thing in two sittings. It's incredibly fast paced and such a quick read, especially for how long the book is.

GAME OF STRENGTH AND STORM is told in multiple perspectives. We hear from Gen, Castor and Pullox, however Gen's perspective is what we read about the most. I would say Gen is portrayed in a more favorable light than Castor and along with being the main POV it makes her easier to cheer for even though Castor is hard not to like as well.

Judging by how things ended I'm guessing and hoping there is a sequel in the works and I'm going to need it asap. As the story was wrapping up I was thinking about how I would have liked if things had of ended differently, then things happen and well, is there a place I can sign up for the next book yet??

Thursday, May 19, 2022

Deep In Providence by Riss M. Neilson REVIEW

Deep In Providence
by Riss M. Neilson


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•

Synopsis

For best friends Miliani, Inez, Natalie and Jasmine, Providence, Rhode Island has a magic of its own. From the bodegas and late-night food trucks on Broad Street to The Hill that watches over the city, every corner of Providence glows with memories of them practicing spells, mixing up potions and doing sรฉances with the help of the magic Miliani’s Filipino grandfather taught her.

But when Jasmine is killed by a drunk driver, the world they have always known is left haunted by grief...and Jasmine's lingering spirit. Determined to bring her back, the surviving friends band together, testing the limits of their magic and everything they know about life, death, and each other.

And as their plan to resurrect Jasmine grows darker and more demanding than they imagined, their separate lives begin to splinter the bonds they depend on, revealing buried secrets that threaten the people they care about most. Miliani, Inez and Natalie will have to rely on more than just their mystical abilities to find the light.

Publication Date: May 31, 2022

**There is a pre-order campaign for this novel with some beautiful swag! Check out the post on @rissmneilson 's page on Instagram for more details! Hurry up and get those pre-orders in.** 

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

This book was so dam delicious! I grabbed every chance I could to just devour it. Deep in Providence gave me everything my little heart hoped for. There's friendship, family, dark magic, love, healing and even some laughs along the way. There was nothing this book was lacking, there is nothing that could have made it any better.

There is a lot going on in this story. Each main character has their own things they're dealing with stitched into the main story. Normally I wouldn't enjoy so much going on but everything is woven together so magnificently. It's incredibly fast paced and the flow is just incredible! I'm still in shocked how a book can have so many different things going on and still have it all coherent and effortless. It's been days since I finished this book and I'm still stunned by how well done it is.

This is Riss M. Neilson's debut novel and I'm calling it now, Riss is an author to watch! Deep In Providence is an incredibly written work of art and I can't wait to see what she releases next. Sign me up!

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Nacimiento by J.R. Agramonte SPOTLIGHT

 Nacimiento

by J.R. Agramonte


Synopsis

The Cinans were created to surpass humanity, but a god has decided they are an aberration, so they have a time limit to prove they deserve existence. Failure to so will mean their extinction.

Alice Gurra, a young and promising scientists, is the sole witness of an abnormal event:
The birth of a child from the corpse of an Alas Sangros, an extinct race of Cinans incapable of conceiving new life. He breaks yet another law of biology as he is the only known being that can control both black and white energy.

Will this hybrid be the salvation or perhaps, the doom of it's spieces?
This is the story of Lidel, a child that only dreams of becoming a hero.
With this Nacimiento, his adventure begins.

Purchase Links:

☆☆ AVAILABLE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED ☆☆


Spanish Version:


Author Bio


J. R. Agrmamonte is an author born and raised in the capital of Cuba, Habana .
As a professional tourguide, he has been the host for thousands of tourist. Listening stories from so many cultures, reading and gaming, J.R learned of many worlds, brought from the past and/or from imagination. One day, he decided to create his own.

Social Media Links



Sunday, May 8, 2022

The Favor by Nora Murphy REVIEW

 The Favor

by Nora Murphy


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘

Synopsis

Staying is dangerous. Leaving could be worse.

Leah and McKenna have never met, though they have parallel lives.

They don’t—ever—find themselves in the same train carriage or meet accidentally at the gym or the coffee shop. They don’t—ever—discuss their problems and find common ground. They don’t—ever—acknowledge to each other that although their lives have all the trappings of success, wealth and happiness, they are, in fact, trapped.

Because Leah understands that what’s inside a home can be more dangerous than what’s outside. Driving past McKenna’s house one night, she sees what she knows only too well herself from her own marriage: McKenna’s “perfect” husband is not what he seems. She decides to keep an eye out for McKenna, until one night, she intervenes.

Leah and McKenna have never met. But they will.

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

I have very little to say about this book. While I thought the story itself was fine it didn't do much for me. I was waiting for something suspenseful to happen but it never did.

What this book did do was provide an insight to the different way abuse can take place besides physical along with the different fears victims face when making the decision to knave or stay. The husband's behavior in this book can be very triggering so I think you should take that into consideration.

Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Poลซkahangatus: Poems by Tayi Tibble REVIEW

Poลซkahangatus: Poems
by Tayi Tibble


Synopsis

The American debut of an acclaimed young poet as she explores her identity as a twenty-first-century Indigenous woman.

Intimate, moving, virtuosic, and hilarious, Tayi Tibble is one of the most exciting new voices in poetry today. In Poลซkahangatus (pronounced "Pocahontas"), her debut volume, Tibble challenges a dazzling array of mythologies--Greek, Mฤori, feminist, kiwi--peeling them apart, respinning them in modern terms. Her poems move from rhythmic discussions of the Kardashians, sugar daddies, and Twilight to exquisite renderings of the natural world and precise emotions ("The lump in her throat swelled like a sea that threatened to take him from her, and she had to swallow hard"). Tibble is also a master narrator of teenage womanhood, its exhilarating highs and devastating lows; her high-camp aesthetics correlate to the overflowing beauty, irony, and ruination of her surroundings.

Poem by poem, Tibble carves out a bold new way of engaging history without merely telling it, of straddling modernity and ancestry, desire and exploitation: a truly twenty-first-century negative capability. These are warm, provocative, and profoundly original poems, written by a woman for whom diving into the wreck means taking on new assumptions--namely, that it is not radical to write from a world in which the effects of colonization, land, work, and gender are obviously connected. Along the way, Tibble scrutinizes perception and how she as a Mฤori woman fits into trends, stereotypes, and popular culture. With language that is at once colorful, passionate, and laugh-out-loud funny, Poลซkahangatus is the work of one of our most daring new poets.

Expected Publication: July 26, 2022

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Poลซkahangatus is the debute poetry collection by Tayi Tibble. I just have to take a second and and recognize how incredibly stunning that cover is! The second I saw it I just had to read this book.

I can't say I connected to every poem in hate. I also can't say I enjoyed every poem in here, but the ones I enjoyed made this entire collection worth reading. I loved being able to read a poetry collection by a young indigenous woman getting a glimpse into her perspective of the world.

My favorite poem in this collection is "Our Nan Lets Us Smoke Inside". It brought back memories of smoking and playing cards with my own nan (yes, I was legal age). The nostalgia I felt reading this poem was just wonderful.

Poลซkahangatus is a very small book coming in at only 96 pages. So if you're looking for just a quick dip into someone else's perspective through poetry than this could potentially be a great option for you.

Sunday, May 1, 2022

Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren REVIEW

 Love and Other Words

by Christina Lauren


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘๐ŸŒ‘

Synopsis

The story of the heart can never be unwritten.

Macy Sorensen is settling into an ambitious if emotionally tepid routine: work hard as a new pediatrics resident, plan her wedding to an older, financially secure man, keep her head down and heart tucked away.

But when she runs into Elliot Petropoulos—the first and only love of her life—the careful bubble she’s constructed begins to dissolve. Once upon a time, Elliot was Macy’s entire world—growing from her gangly bookish friend into the man who coaxed her heart open again after the loss of her mother...only to break it on the very night he declared his love for her.

Told in alternating timelines between Then and Now, teenage Elliot and Macy grow from friends to much more—spending weekends and lazy summers together in a house outside of San Francisco devouring books, sharing favorite words, and talking through their growing pains and triumphs. As adults, they have become strangers to one another until their chance reunion. Although their memories are obscured by the agony of what happened that night so many years ago, Elliot will come to understand the truth behind Macy’s decade-long silence, and will have to overcome the past and himself to revive her faith in the possibility of an all-consuming love.

Review

I enjoyed this one a lot more than I expected, well most of it anyways. After how much I disliked "In A Holidaze" I had no intention of trying Christina Lauren again but this ended up being the book club pick so here I am.

I'm really not a big fan of Macy, or I should say the way that nobody can let go of her. Like, it's been 11 years since she has seen Elliot and his family. Yet 10 years after the last time she spoke to them Elliot finally brings home a girlfriend and his mom can't get her name right because she is calling her Macy! After 10 years! Like what? I get that we're all supposed to love Macy and she is so special but this was laid on so thick that it started taking away from the story.

Another issue I have is Macy's breakup with her fiancรฉ, it was way too easy. Their whole relationship was there more as a statement to her love for Elliot rather than an actual obstacle to face. There was no drama, no emotion, no conflict at all just calmly and quietly done. I feel like the fiancรฉ character was only created so she would have someone to leave when Elliot came around and it was time for them to reunite.

What I dislike about romance in general is how predictable it is. You basically know when you start how things are going to end and ultimately it's just the journey of getting there. While Love and Other Words was also predictable, the journey there was mostly enjoyable. I liked watching everything play out and seeing how the characters got from the beginning to the end. If you're into romance than you'll probably enjoy it more than I did. Personally, I thought it started strong and then lost me in the last 150 pages.

Tuesday, April 26, 2022

Other People's Lives by JE Rowney REVIEW

Other People’s Lives
by JE Rowney


๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ•๐ŸŒ‘

Synopsis

Listen carefully.
 
Watch closely.
 
Trust nobody.
 
“Let me ask you. Are you worried that someone is watching you, or are you worried that
you think someone is watching you?”
Sophie Portman has lost her husband, and she thinks she may be losing her mind.
 
She seeks the help of psychiatrist Andrew Thacker, but as she starts to open up, the truth begins to
unravel and nothing is quite as it seems.
 
Other People's Lives is a gripping psychological thriller from bestselling author JE Rowney.
 
"A heart-stopping twist. I never saw it coming." - advance reader review.
 
Purchase Links


Review

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources and the J.E. Rowney for having me on this blog tour and providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed enjoyed this book overall. The story was entertaining and held my attention. It's an easy read that can be read rather quickly. While I can't say I actually enjoyed the personalities of any of the characters I think they fit their roles in the book perfectly. They were the perfect amount of dislikeable for the situations that took place.

This was so cleverly done. At first I missed something very important and it wasn't until a conversation with someone else that I really understood what happened. Once I understood it was like an "oh wow" moment where everything just clicked.

There are subtle clues throughout the story that clearly give away this key part of the story but they are also so easy to miss. When you're reading this one pay attention to everything! I don't think that everyone is going to understand what happens here and for that reason I don't think this is for everybody. However, I do think those who get it, are going to really enjoy it.

Author Bio


J.E. Rowney spent several years in the cold Yorkshire hills, but now lives on the south coast of
England. She spent ten years working as a midwife before turning in her gloves to become an
author.
 
She has written ten novels, and also enjoys writing short stories. In 2020 she was the winner of the
Pen to Print Short Story award, the Dinesh Allirajah Prize for Short Fiction, and, in 2021, the Fresher
Publishing Student Writing Award.
 
She spends lots of time writing in coffee shops, so if you see her, say hello.
 
Ms. Rowney says: "I always dreamed of being a writer, until I realised that I was. Then I started to
write."
 
You can find out more about JE Rowney on her website at jerowney.com (where you can download a free book!), or follow @jerowneywriter on social media.

Please Remember Me by Florence Keeling SPOTLIGHT

Please Remember Me by Florence Keeling Blurb Inheriting a run down house from a stranger isn’t exactly the present Laura had expected for he...