Tuesday, December 7, 2021

When You Get The Chance by Emma Lord REVIEW

When You Get The Chance

by Emma Lord


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

Synopsis

Nothing will get in the way of Millie Price’s dream to become a Broadway star. Not her lovable but super-introverted dad, who after raising Millie alone, doesn’t want to watch her leave home to pursue her dream. Not her pesky and ongoing drama club rival, Oliver, who is the very definition of Simmering Romantic Tension. And not the “Millie Moods,” the feelings of intense emotion that threaten to overwhelm, always at maddeningly inconvenient times. Millie needs an ally. And when a left-open browser brings Millie to her dad’s embarrassingly moody LiveJournal from 2003, Millie knows just what to do. She’s going to find her mom.

There’s Steph, a still-aspiring stage actress and receptionist at a talent agency. There’s Farrah, ethereal dance teacher who clearly doesn’t have the two left feet Millie has. And Beth, the chipper and sweet stage enthusiast with an equally exuberant fifteen-year-old daughter (A possible sister?! This is getting out of hand). But how can you find a new part of your life and expect it to fit into your old one, without leaving any marks? And why is it that when you go looking for the past, it somehow keeps bringing you back to what you’ve had all along?

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher for an advanced review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

As a baby Millie was given to her father to raise by himself. She has never met her mother nor does she know who she is. After a disagreement with her dad, Millie decides to find her mom as a way to get what she wants. When things don't go exactly as planned Millie is taken on a journey to understanding herself, her parents and the parts of love that sometimes mean letting go.

What a truly wonderful story! It wasn't long before I was drawn into the dramatic life of Millie Price. She is incredibly charming with a heart full of sass. Her story is as heartwarming as it is entertaining.

While I personally wouldn't consider this a romance, even though it does have a romance in it, I would recommend it to those who enjoy their romance as a side (but totally fitting) story rather than the main plot point. Combining musical theatre, family drama, enemies to lovers romance, and adorable friendships this book has something for everyone.


Expected Publication Date: January 4th 2022

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

2022 Four Moon Reading Challenge

 2022 Four Moon Reading Challenge


Hi everyone, thank you so much for visiting my blog! Today I am beyond excited to be introducing the very first Four Moon Reading Challenge. This is the first reading challenge I've ever created so even if you don't participate I appreciate you even taking the time to visit this post. If you choose to participate and/or post any content on social media please use the hashtag #fourmoonbookchallenge so I can send some love your way.

Below are a list of the prompts for the challenge. Feel free to do as many or as few of the prompts as you like. Any format of book is perfectly fine. I'm not going to police your reading so if you feel it counts then it counts.

The Challenge will run from January 1 2022 until December 31 2022. If you start a book in 2021 and finish it in 2022 and want to count it that's totally fine. Just have fun!

Without further waiting, here is the prompt list (with explanations where necessary):

1. A book about or involving a lie

2. A book with a moon or stars on the cover

3. A book chosen by a child (this could be literally any book. Children's books, comic books etc.)

4. A book out of season (literally any book that takes place in a season you aren't in when you read it)

5. A book with less than 1000 ratings on GoodReads

6. A book with a beautiful cover

7. A book with an insect on the cover

8. A book that looks like another book you've read (just a book that has a visual similarity to another book you've read at some point in time)

9. Read the first book in a trilogy (does not have to be the same trilogy as prompts 10 & 11)

10. Read the second book in a trilogy (does not have to be the same trilogy as prompts 9 & 11)

11. Read the third book in a trilogy ((does not have to be the same trilogy as prompts 9 & 10)

12. Has less than 3 colors on the cover

13. Newest book on your TBR shelf (the newest book you acquired as a gift  bought yourself or borrowed from the library)

14. On your bookshelf or TBR for 2+ years

15. A book involving a family (could involve any family dynamic)

16. Written by an author you love

17. Written by an author you've never read before

18. A book with a textured cover (where the cover has parts on it that are raised so you can feel them)

19. Flip A Coin (choose two books then flip a coin to see which one to read)

20. Has a number in the title

21. Has your favorite fictitious character in it (could be anything nonhuman that doesn't actually exist in the real world)

22. Read a book about adoption

23. Has your favorite color on the cover

24. Has an interesting title (any book where the title intrigues you)

25. Read a book then leave a review (literally any book where you leave a review, the review can be as long or as short as you want)

26. A book that fits a prompt for another reading challenge

27. A book featuring music

28. A book on a sensitive subject (this is any topic you believe is a sensitive subject, do not read something that is going to trigger you, this is just a reading challenge to try and help broaden your reading)

29. A book that has won the GoodReads Choice Awards (any year, any topic)

30. A retelling

31. A book released 5+ years ago

32. Read a middle grade book

33. A book with an even number of pages

34. A book you bought because of social media

35. A book about or involving cooking 

36. A book with all the colors of the rainbow on the cover (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple)

37. A book with a 40+ year old main character

38. A book that has pictures

39. Has one of the four elements on the cover (earth, air, water, fire, the sky would work for the air element)

40. A nonfiction book on a person or subject you know nothing about.

I'm sure you noticed there are no queer, poc, indigenous or disability rep as one of the prompts. I didn't add them because you can find representation for all the above groups to fit all of these prompts and I encourage you to do so.

If you've made it to the end, thank you so much for reading. If you decide to participate let me know. I'd love to know what books you're choosing or would recommend for each prompt.

See you on the moon! XO

Links:


Wednesday, November 17, 2021

The Custard Corpses by M.J. Porter REVIEW

The Custard Corpses
by M.J. Porter


🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

Synopsis

The Custard Corpses, a delicious 1940s mystery.

Birmingham, England, 1943.

While the whine of the air raid sirens might no longer be rousing him from bed every night, a two-decade-old unsolved murder case will ensure that Chief Inspector Mason of Erdington Police Station is about to suffer more sleepless nights.

Young Robert McFarlane’s body was found outside the local church hall on 30th September 1923. But, his cause of death was drowning, and he’d been missing for three days before his body was found. No one was ever arrested for the crime. No answers could ever be given to the grieving family. The unsolved case has haunted Mason ever since.

But, the chance discovery of another victim, with worrying parallels, sets Mason, and his constable, O’Rourke, on a journey that will take them back over twenty-five years, the chance to finally solve the case, while all around them the uncertainty of war continues, impossible to ignore.

Purchase Link: mybook.to/TheCustardCorpses

Review

Thank you to the author and Rachel's Random Resources for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

In The Custard Corpses, Chief Inspector Mason investigates an old homicide case that was never solved. While investigating this case one thing leads to another and soon more cold cases are being connected to this one. Things continue to get stranger until certain connections are made that take these cases to a whole new level.

I enjoyed this book quite a bit. The concept is interesting. The twists and reveals were clever. The writing is well done. It's wrapped up very nicely. It really was a juicy mystery just waiting to tickle your tastebuds.

If you're looking for a historical mystery dripped in dessert than this may be the book you're looking for.

As a warning I will say the victims in this book are children however nothing violent happens in the book. When the story opens the victims are already deceased and the case has been marked cold for years.

Author Bio

I'm an author of historical fiction (Early English, Vikings and the British Isles as a whole before the Norman Conquest) and fantasy (Viking age/dragon-themed). I’ve recently written a relatively modern mystery novel set in 1943. I was born in the old Mercian kingdom at some point since 1066. Raised in the shadow of a strange little building, told from a very young age that it housed the bones of long-dead Kings of Mercia and that our garden was littered with old pieces of pottery from a long-ago battle, it's little wonder that my curiosity in Early England ran riot. I can only blame my parents!

I write A LOT. You've been warned!

Find me at www.mjporterauthor.com and @coloursofunison on twitter.


Social Media Links:


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7163404.M_J_Porter

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/coloursofunison/_saved/


Giveaway to Win 2 x copies of The Custard Corpses (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.


http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494455/



Sunday, November 14, 2021

Erma Does The Math by Ann Strawn REVIEW

Erma Does The Math
by Ann Strawn


Synopsis

When Tameka visits her elderly aunt, birthday gift in hand, quirky Aunt Erma puts her to work. As she hangs an old photo Tameka discovers that the women in the picture are 1940’s-era human computers at Langley Jet Propulsion Lab and that her auntie was one of them! She has lots of questions, but Aunt Erma’s price for answers is one math problem each. Tameka keeps up, but the problems get more complex with each question. Remembering the gift, Tameka convinces her auntie to open it. The contents make them both laugh and realize that they’ve learned something about each other.

Purchase Links

Review

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources and the author for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Erma Does The Math is an adorable story about Erma Tynes Walker who was a human computer at Langley Airforce Base. This truly interesting story is told in a way that children will be able to understand and enjoy. The bright illustrations and adorable characters grab your attention and bring life into the story. As we read along we do some math problems and learn about what it was like to be a human computer.

There are a lot of things you and your child can enjoy about this book. It's a great choice for the math lovers, the history lovers, the books lovers.. heck, this book is a great choice for everybody!
 

Author Bio


Ann Strawn lives in Renton Washington with her husband of 34 years, daughter and family dog. She makes her living as a middle school science teacher and truly enjoys the company of kids and teens. She considers her job total immersion training for writing her middle grade novels, THE DOWNLOAD and THE UPDATE.

Ann’s most current project is a picture book about her great aunt Erma Tynes Walker who was a human computer at Langley Airforce Base. Besides writing Ann also enjoys crochet and just hanging out with her family.



Tuesday, November 9, 2021

Heard it in a Love Song by Tracey Garvis Graves REVIEW

Heard it in a Love Song
by Tracey Garvis Graves


🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

Synopsis

Layla Hilding is thirty-five and recently divorced. Struggling to break free from the past—her glory days as the lead singer in a band and a ten-year marriage to a man who never put her first—Layla’s newly found independence feels a lot like loneliness.

Then there’s Josh, the single dad whose daughter attends the elementary school where Layla teaches music. Recently separated, he’s still processing the end of his twenty-year marriage to his high school sweetheart. He chats with Layla every morning at school and finds himself thinking about her more and more.

Equally cautious and confused about dating in a world that favors apps over meeting organically, Layla and Josh decide to be friends with the potential for something more. Sounds sensible and way too simple—but when two people are on the rebound, is it heartbreak or happiness that’s a love song away?


Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Heard it in a Love Song is a slow burn romance. While that's not really my preference it was still an enjoyable read. My biggest issue is how long it was. I feel like there's so much that could have been left out without messing up the book. For example, we are given the full story of the relationship between Layla and her ex-husband from their meeting to their breakup with all the details. We are also given all the details of Layla's new love interest and his ex-wife. And those are just back stories that have no pull to the main story line. It was all just too much for me and by the time it was over I was just thankful it was done.

I liked Layla as a main character. I think her growth was really good and her personality was very attractive. Certain things about her kind of reminded me of Daisy Jones without the drugs and drama.

I recommend this book to people who enjoy long, slow paced romances that give you all the juicy details. From the meet ups to the break ups there is nothing left for you to wonder about.

Gilded by Marissa Meyer REVIEW

Gilded
by Marissa Meyer



🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

Long ago cursed by the god of lies, a poor miller's daughter has developed a talent for spinning stories that are fantastical and spellbinding and entirely untrue.

Or so everyone believes.

When one of Serilda's outlandish tales draws the attention of the sinister Erlking and his undead hunters, she finds herself swept away into a grim world where ghouls and phantoms prowl the earth and hollow-eyed ravens track her every move. The king orders Serilda to complete the impossible task of spinning straw into gold, or be killed for telling falsehoods. In her desperation, Serilda unwittingly summons a mysterious boy to her aid. He agrees to help her… for a price. Love isn't meant to be part of the bargain.

Soon Serilda realizes that there is more than one secret hidden in the castle walls, including an ancient curse that must be broken if she hopes to end the tyranny of the king and his wild hunt forever.

Review

Thank you to Macmillan Children's Publishing Group for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.What could possibly be better than a Rumpelstiltskin retelling?

A Rumpelstiltskin retelling written by retelling Queen Marissa Meyer with her classic flair for juicy drama and writing style that captures you inside its magic. **Cue Happy Dance**

I enjoyed this book so much. I ended up starting it one day and staying up late the next night to finish it because I just couldn't wait another day to find out how it ended. Who needs sleep when you're hopelessly lost inside a story with suspence, magic, thrills and secrets anyways?

As expected, the writing is amazing. The pacing is perfect. It was fast paced even when very little was happening. Every piece of the story was important. There was no word vomit or filler.

I adored Serilda as a main character. I just loved her spunk and her spirit. The side characters were so well done. Each character had an important part in the story no matter how small it was. I loved that we don't get weighed down with a huge mess of characters but rather get to focus on a select few. It allows us to really appreciate each one of them as individuals.

Please tell me this is a series. I really hope this is a series. It feels like it should be a series. I need more from this story, these characters, this world! I just need more. Like soon, please!

Purchase Links:

Sunday, November 7, 2021

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Bar by Isabella May REVIEW

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Bar

by Isabella May


🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

River and Alice miss Somerset. Christmas isn’t Christmas without family and friends, even when you live in quaint Cornwall.

When River’s Aunt Sheba dies unexpectedly, leaving him her ancient VW campervan, nostalgia nudges him and Alice back to Glastonbury - and the surrounding villages - to rediscover their roots whilst serving the most decadent hot chocolate and delectable gingerbread from their renovated ‘bar on wheels’.

A bar on wheels complete with a fold-up stage to host local talent competitions rivaling anything Simon Cowell could dream up, even if he’d gorged on a truckle of Cheddar cheese!

As the villagers sip their cocoa and ice their gingerbread houses amidst the festive backdrop of song, dance, and slightly more unconventional talents, River and Alice find themselves in an unexpected race against time:

Zara, their chocolate supplier is leaving Glastonbury on the twelfth day of Christmas, keen to put a string of disastrous relationships behind her to make a fresh start.

Bruno, their gregarious and gorgeous baking supplier is secretly smitten with Zara - ticking every box on her New Year’s wish list.

If only they can get them together for one experimental kiss under the mistletoe...

They’ve even enlisted their customers’ help in their mission to wrap this budding romance up in all the jingle bells and whistles. How hard can it be?

So, ho, ho VERY tricky, as it turns out...

Purchase Link: mybook.to/twinkletwinklelittleb

Review

Thank you to the author and Rachel's Random Resources for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Twinkle Twinkle Little Bar is an adorably cute story that is as tasty as hot chocolate. We've got some friends, some food, some drama and of course, some love all wrapped and rolled into a sweet story. The characters are a fun, likeable cast. To me, the cast seemed like they could have their own TV show. This could easily be drawn out into a 6 part Christmas special.. or a movie, dealers choice!

This is the perfect read for the romantic foodie in your life. And if you are a romantic foodie then grab a snack, cuddle up and pass away the day with this sweet story.

Author Bio

Isabella May lives in (mostly) sunny Andalusia, Spain with her husband, daughter and son, creatively inspired by the mountains and the sea. She grew up on Glastonbury's ley lines and loves to feature her quirky English hometown in her stories.

After a degree in Modern Languages and European Studies at UWE, Bristol (and a year working abroad in Bordeaux and Stuttgart), Isabella bagged an extremely jammy and fascinating job in children's publishing... selling foreign rights for novelty, board, pop-up and non-fiction books all over the world; in every language from Icelandic to Korean, Bahasa Indonesian to Papiamento!

All of which has fuelled her curiosity and love of international food and travel - both feature extensively in her cross-genre novels, fused with a dollop of romcom, and a sprinkle of magical realism.

Isabella is also a Level 4 Pranic Healer and a stillbirth mum.

Social Media Links

www.isabellamayauthor.com

Twitter - @IsabellaMayBks

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/IsabellaMayAuthor/

Instagram - @isabella_may_author

Saturday, November 6, 2021

You've Reached Sam by Dustin Thao REVIEW

 You've Reached Sam

by Dustin Thao


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Julie has her future all planned out—move out of her small town with her boyfriend Sam, attend college in the city, spend a summer in Japan. But then Sam dies. And everything changes.

Heartbroken, Julie skips his funeral, throws out his things, and tries everything to forget him and the tragic way he died. But a message Sam left behind in her yearbook forces back memories. Desperate to hear his voice one more time, Julie calls Sam’s cellphone just to listen to his voicemail.

And Sam picks up the phone.

In a miraculous turn of events, Julie’s been given a second chance at goodbye. The connection is temporary. But hearing Sam’s voice makes her fall for him all over again, and with each call it becomes harder to let him go. However, keeping her otherworldly calls with Sam a secret isn’t easy, especially when Julie witnesses the suffering Sam’s family is going through. Unable to stand by the sidelines and watch their shared loved ones in pain, Julie is torn between spilling the truth about her calls with Sam and risking their connection and losing him forever.

Publication Date: November 9, 2021
 

Review

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

I really enjoyed this one. I thought the relationship between Julie and Sam was really sweet. You can really feel how much they loved each other. Throughout the story we move through the grieving process with Julie. Through thoughtful and intelligent writing we are able to fully grasp Julie's range of emotions. Thao wastes no time grabbing us by the heart and squeezing it until it almost crushes us before allowing us to slowly start healing. I went through so many emotions reading this book. It was like whatever Julie felt, I felt.

The only thing I didn't enjoy was the length. I feel like this could have been a bit shorter and been just as good. It dragged for me, not enough that I stopped caring about the characters but enough that by the time it was over I was glad to be finished it while still having enjoyed the journey.

If you're looking for a story about heartbreak and healing this could be exactly what you're looking for.

Friday, November 5, 2021

The Nest by Kenneth Oppel REVIEW

 The Nest

by Kenneth Oppel


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

For some kids summer is a sun-soaked season of fun. But for Steve, it’s just another season of worries. Worries about his sick newborn baby brother who is fighting to survive, worries about his parents who are struggling to cope, even worries about the wasp’s nest looming ominously from the eaves. So when a mysterious wasp queen invades his dreams, offering to “fix” the baby, Steve thinks his prayers have been answered.

All he has to do is say “Yes.” But “yes” is a powerful word. It is also a dangerous one. And once it is uttered, can it be taken back?

Review

When I started reading The Nest, I couldn't help but wonder what I had gotten myself into. By the time I got to chapter 4 I was hooked!

The Nest is a super quick read. Not only is it a rather short book but it's also fast paced and it flies by so quickly when you're reading it. The concept is a little weird and a little gross but so awesome. Wasps are a big focus of the story, so if they bother you .. well don't say you weren't warned.

Oppel is a very talented story teller. I ate up this book like candy. I became so captivated by the story I was just lost in it. I couldn't wait to find out how everything would play out. I wasn't sure if what was happening was real or all in someone's imagination. It's the perfect line of creepy and weird. While I didn't find it scary per se, it was absolutely fascinating!

This is a great choice for those who are looking for creepy but not scary. It's not a complicated story as it is a middle grade, so it's great for anyone over 10. 

Saturday, October 23, 2021

A Face For Picasso by Ariel Henley REVIEW

 A Face For Picasso

by Ariel Henley


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

I am ugly. There's a mathematical equation to prove it.

At only eight months old, identical twin sisters Ariel and Zan were diagnosed with Crouzon syndrome -- a rare condition where the bones in the head fuse prematurely. They were the first twins known to survive the disease.

Growing up, Ariel and her sister endured numerous appearance-altering procedures. Surgeons would break the bones in their heads and faces to make room for their growing organs. While the physical aspect of their condition was painful, it was nothing compared to the emotional toll of navigating life with a facial disfigurement.

Ariel explores beauty and identity in her young-adult memoir about resilience, sisterhood, and the strength it takes to put your life, and yourself, back together time and time again.

Review

Thank you to Macmillan Children's Publishing for a free review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

A Face For Picasso is one of the most beautiful books I've ever read. Throughout the book we travel through Ariel's journey with her sister Zan who also has Crouzon Syndrome through Ariel's perspective. We learn of what she hoped for, what she was afraid of and the struggles that made her who she is today.

I was drawn into this book with its captivating writing and heart warming story. I found it read like fiction in the best way. I was completely captivated by this story of two loving sisters dealing with this horrible condition and they had no one to understand what they were dealing with but each other. I can honestly say I have never loved a memoir the way I love this one. There are so many reasons to read this book. There is so much hope and strength held within its pages despite all the pain and suffering Ariel and Zan suffered through.

If you only read one nonfiction book this year, I recommend it be this one.

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay REVIEW

A Head Full of Ghosts
by Paul Tremblay


🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

Synopsis

The lives of the Barretts, a normal suburban New England family, are torn apart when fourteen-year-old Marjorie begins to display signs of acute schizophrenia.

To her parents' despair, the doctors are unable to stop Marjorie's descent into madness. As their stable home devolves into a house of horrors, they reluctantly turn to a local Catholic priest for help. Father Wanderly suggests an exorcism; he believes the vulnerable teenager is the victim of demonic possession. He also contacts a production company that is eager to document the Barretts' plight. With John, Marjorie's father, out of work for more than a year and the medical bills looming, the family agrees to be filmed, and soon find themselves the unwitting stars of The Possession, a hit reality television show. When events in the Barrett household explode in tragedy, the show and the shocking incidents it captures become the stuff of urban legend.

Fifteen years later, a bestselling writer interviews Marjorie's younger sister, Merry. As she recalls those long ago events that took place when she was just eight years old, long-buried secrets and painful memories that clash with what was broadcast on television begin to surface--and a mind-bending tale of psychological horror is unleashed, raising vexing questions about memory and reality, science and religion, and the very nature of evil.

Review

I had such high hopes for this one! Based on what I heard, I had expected to be scared to death while reading it. Unfortunately, that was far from the case. While I admit there were a couple pages where I thought we were about to get creepy it just never hit that fear factor for me. In real life, I am genuinely freaked out by the paranormal so I thought this would really scare me. Instead I just ended up bored and ready to DNF about halfway through. I ended up switching to the audiobook. That was a little easier to get through. By the end I was just like "okay cool" and ready for it to be over.

This is the second book I've read by Paul Tremblay. Both have been 3 star reads for me. There's nothing else by him that I'm actually excited to read so unless that changes I won't be back for more.

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Bad Girls Never Say Die by Jennifer Mathieu REVIEW

 Bad Girls Never Say Die

by Jennifer Mathieu


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

1964. Houston, Texas.

Evie Barnes is a bad girl. So are all her friends. They’re the sort who wear bold makeup, laugh too loud, and run around with boys. Most of all, they protect their own against the world. So when Evie is saved from the unimaginable by a good girl from the "right" side of the tracks, every rule she's always lived by is called into question. Now she must redefine what it means to be a bad girl and rethink everything she knew about loyalty.

In this riveting story of murder, secrets, and tragedy, Jennifer Mathieu reimagines S. E. Hinton's The Outsiders from a female perspective. Bad Girls Never Say Die has all the drama and heartache of that teen classic, but with a feminist take just right for our times.

Review

Thank you to Macmillan Children's Publishing Group for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Bad Girls Never Say Die is a genderbent retelling of The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and I am here for it! Evie is a bad girl, her friends are bad girls and the last thing those girls would ever do is be caught hanging around a tea-sipper good girl. Until one night when Evie is saved by one of the good girls and their whole lives get thrown upside down. With big secrets and new friendships forming on every page, Bad Girls Never Say Die will have your heart pounding and your eyes full until it's done.

I adored this book. I loved the storyline, I love how everything played out. The ending shook me but I feel like it fit and the book wouldn't have been the same without it. The writing is emotionally charged and powerful. Jennifer Mathieu has this way of sparking emotion that just gets me fired up. I wanna start a riot! I wanna start a revolution! 

Bad Girls Never Say Die is a story of friendship and sisterhood. It's the story of five girls who stuck by each other no matter how ugly things got. And it's a story about love and family and how sometimes the strongest love you have is from the family you create.

⭐⭐⭐

If you would like to read a book about real women who were forced to surrender their children I recommend reading The Girls Who Went Away: The Hidden History of Women Who Surrendered Children for Adoption in the Decades Before Roe V. Wade by Ann Fessler. I read these two books basically at the same time and was shocked by how much they fit together. It's a perfect pairing of fiction and non-fiction.

Saturday, October 16, 2021

The Dance of The Snow Tractors

The Dance of the Snow Tractors
illustrated by Shannon Wilvers


Synopsis

When we hear snowy day we imagine sledding, snow angels, and hot chocolate. Siena, who lives in Ottawa, also thinks of dance! Why? Because, when the snow comes down the plows show up and perform what she calls the Dance of the Snow Tractors.

Join Siena on her porch with a mug of something warm and enjoy the show. You'll never see snow plows quite the same way again.

Purchase Links:

https://www.motherbutterfly.com/authors/
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dance-Snow-Tractors-Sienas-Stories-ebook/dp/B09DP43F11
https://www.amazon.com/Dance-Snow-Tractors-Sienas-Stories-ebook/dp/B09DP43F11
https://www.amazon.ca/Dance-Snow-Tractors-Sienas-Stories-ebook/dp/B09DP43F11

Review

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

The Dance of the Snow Tractors is a cute, quick book about winter in Ottawa, Canada. Throughout the book we follow Siena as she shows us what fun things can be done in the snow. Among these fun things are different ways that snow is removed throughout the city and how interesting watching the snow removal can be.

This is a fairly quick and simple read that can be enjoyed by smaller children as well as slightly older children. The artwork is so adorable. The bright colors and fun illustrations bring the story to life. If you're looking for a fun snowy book to read with the kids, this could be exactly what you're looking for.

Illustrator Bio

Shannon Wilvers is a Canadian illustrator who loves drawing things on her computer. While she mostly draws and colours digitally, she also likes to experiment and play with different mediums such as watercolour.

In her spare time, she enjoys learning new things and watching cartoons. She is currently based in New Brunswick where she lives with her dog, Lucy.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MotherButterflyBooks
Instagram: motherbutterfly_books
Twitter: @MButterflyBooks

The Dwelling of All Souls by Brandann R. Hill-Mann REVIEW

 The Dwelling of All Souls

(The Hole in the World Series #3)

by Brandann R. Hill-Mann


Synopsis:

Everyone has secrets.

Innes has one he can’t wait to share with his best friend.

Kahrin has one she can’t wait to lay bare to her best friend.

Other secrets aren’t theirs to keep, but they refuse to stay buried all the same, and the magical fallout has dire consequences.

A grisly message sends the pair on a road trip to Kahrin’s parents’ past. A past they worked hard to hide and hide from. Innes and Kahrin go expecting a fight. What they find are friendly people, a deeper world of magic, and family they never asked for.

If the last five years taught them anything, it’s that magic isn’t always righteous, coincidences are often anything but, and sometimes heroes don’t live forever.

Review:

A huge thank you to the author for a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Well folks, Brandann has done it again. 'The Dwelling of All Souls' is the third book of The Hole In The World Series. There is still 1 more book left to the series and honestly I can't wait.

We once again to follow Kahrin and Innes on an unexpected adventure. Kahrin's Da has fallen ill and they are determined to find out what exactly is going on. Secrets are revealed, lovers are united and magic is in the air.

'The Dwelling of All Souls' gave me all the thrills I've come to expect from Brandann. The fabulous writing has once again taken me on a roller coaster of emotions. I am completely invested in this series. I can't wait to see how everything gets wrapped up.

As I said this is the third book in a series so I don't recommend starting with this one. I would recommend starting with book 1 'The Hole In The World' as certain things are referenced in this book. I mean it's not totally necessary but I strongly recommend it.


Thursday, October 14, 2021

Horrid by Katrina Leno REVIEW

Horrid
by Katrina Leno


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

Following her father's death, Jane North-Robinson and her mom move from sunny California to the dreary, dilapidated old house in Maine where her mother grew up. All they want is a fresh start, but behind North Manor's doors lurks a history that leaves them feeling more alone...and more tormented.

As the cold New England autumn arrives, and Jane settles in to her new home, she finds solace in old books and memories of her dad. She steadily begins making new friends, but also faces bullying from the resident "bad seed," struggling to tamp down her own worst nature in response. Jane's mom also seems to be spiraling with the return of her childhood home, but she won't reveal why. Then Jane discovers that the "storage room" her mom has kept locked isn't for storage at all — it's a little girl's bedroom, left untouched for years and not quite as empty of inhabitants as it appears....

Is it grief? Mental illness? Or something more...horrid?

Review

Horrid is deliciously creepy. It is so atmospheric and dreamy. I don't usually get creeped out by books, however this one had me totally creeped out. I was reading it while in bed and had to put it down until the morning. I could just be a big baby but I was creeped out! I loved how I wasn't sure how everything was going to play out. It seemed like it could have went in just about any direction.

Jane was a magnificent main character. She's a mystery lover, kind of odd, slightly creepy and she's also the new girl so none of her new friends know her enough to throw the reader any clues on if she is going crazy or really experiencing something paranormal. Jane is quick to anger although we don't know if that is a normal part of her personality or a result of losing her dad and having to suddenly move far away from everything she's ever known. Along with her mother, she ends up living in her mother's childhood home. A run down creepy house that Jane doesn't know anything about and her mother never wanted to revisit.

If you're looking for a book to slightly freak you out that you can just chill and enjoy during spooky season then give this one a try. I really enjoyed it and think it's a great October read.

Monday, October 11, 2021

Sorry For Your Loss by Joanne Levy REVIEW

Sorry For Your Loss

by Joanne Levy


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis:

Evie Walman is not obsessed with death. She does think about it a lot, though, but only because her family runs a Jewish funeral home. At twelve, Evie already knows she's going to be a funeral director when she grows up. So what if the kids at school call her "corpse girl" and say she smells like death? They're just mean and don't get how important it is to have someone take care of things when your world is falling apart. Evie loves dusting caskets, polishing pews, and vacuuming the chapel--and on funeral days, she dresses up and hands out tissues and offers her condolences to mourners. She doesn't normally help her parents with the grieving families directly, until one day when they ask her to help with Oren, a boy who was in a horrific car accident that killed both his parents. Oren refuses to speak and Evie, who is nursing her own private grief, is determined to find a way to help him deal with his loss.

Review:

Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Sorry For Your Loss is a very sweet middle grade book that is guaranteed to hit you right where it hurts. It will break your heart with the pain and grief of its characters and then slowly mend it back together with love and friendship. Evie is a sweet child, she has some difficult things going on in both her personal and school life. Oren is suffering a heavy loss and struggling to deal with his grief. When these two not-friends end up spending a lot of time together an unlikely not-friendship starts to emerge and with it healing for them both. The friendship between Evie and Oren is truly sweet and special. 

The storyline was incredibly well thought out. The writing was beautiful. We are given a story about death and grief and get to watch it transform into a story about hope and healing. The pacing of a story is a major thing for me, and I have to say this one is paced perfectly. The author manages to somehow slow everything down for a maximum emotional impact, yet keep the story progressing so nothing is overdrawn. You can feel the emotions of the characters as you progressed through the story. Their grief becomes yours; their healing becomes yours. The emotional impact is high. This book is absolutely incredible. I highly recommend it.

Saturday, October 9, 2021

Don't Poop in the Tub by Colin F. Murphy REVIEW

Don't Poop in the Tub
by Colin Murphy


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis

When my bubble bath for one
becomes a bubble bath for two,
it's time to lay down some rules
of what pirates do and don't do!
Come join our adventure,
across the wide soap sea,
I know you'll love it too,
just you wait and see.

Review

Thank you to the author for a free review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

First of all, this book is hilarious! Second of all, it's adorable and if you have kids I'm pretty sure they would love it.

In "Don't Poop in the Tub" we have an older sister who is taking a bath when her mom puts her little sister in the tub with her. Big sister is fine with that but only if little sister doesn't poop in the tub.

I know what you're thinking.. that sounds cute and funny. Well, it is and it's even funnier and cuter than it sounds. The story is told in rhymes that flow perfectly. The pictures add so much to the story. The facial expressions on the characters bring the story to life. It's a literal perfect pairing between the story and the pictures.

I would recommend this book to kids of any age, especially if they have younger siblings. The story is fun enough entertain just about anybody. My daughter and I really enjoy reading and rereading this book together. Don't Poop in the Tub is a must have for every child's library.

Thursday, October 7, 2021

The Christmas Miracle (Christmas on The Close #6) by Stephanie Wood REVIEW

The Christmas Miracle
(Christmas on The Close #6)
by Stephanie Wood


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌕

Synopsis:

You are invited to spend CHRISTMAS ON THE CLOSE where each of the neighbours are celebrating in their own special way.

Diane always enjoys baking special festive treats, which she happily delivers to her friendly neighbours on The Close as Christmas approaches.

When she decides to seek closure with a romantic matter from her past, she unexpectedly finds herself on an emotional journey she isn’t prepared for.

Her granddaughter, Emma, has all the technical know-how to assist in the search for answers, but is distracted by an intense - and highly unsuitable - romance of her own.

The two women must deal with unsettling issues as they begin to face the reality of their situations, but their familial bond helps to provide the security and support they need to answer the questions they face.

The sixth standalone episode of ‘Christmas on The Close’reveals how it may be easier to allow the head to make all the decisions, but the heart will never stop fighting for what it really wants.

Purchase Link:

UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08CT3LRR6

Review:

Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources and the author for having me on this blog tour. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

The Christmas Miracle is an adorable second chance, later in life romance. It is incredibly sweet and will warm your insides right to your soul.

It is a very short read and can be finished within a couple hours as there is just enough detail and background about the characters to ensure the reader understands the situation. However, I absolutely love that; it's a big positive for me as I find it keeps the story moving forward.

This bite size beauty is perfect for when you want a simple quick read with all the feels and none of the info dump. I will note it's #6 in a series. This is the first book I've read from
the series and it didn't affect my enjoyment or understanding of the story at all. So if you haven't already then go add this one to your tbr.

Author Bio:


Stephanie Wood writes contemporary fiction in the form of novels, novellas and short stories and you can find the running order of her titles on the first page of any book.

She published the AEGEAN SUN series of books as a fly-on-the-wall vision of life in a Greek resort during the summer season, using her extensive experience as a holiday rep to bring some unusual incidents to life on the page. The series began as an exploration of the various ways in which tourists make the most of their holidays and how they interact with the locals while they are visiting. The later books in the series have taken a closer look at the locals themselves and show how their lives and relationships are sometimes changed by the regular influx of seasonal visitors.

The CHRISTMAS ON THE CLOSE series is set in a British suburban cul-de-sac over the festive period and visits each house individually to discover how the neighbours who live there celebrate the season in their own special way.

Stephanie lives in Lancashire where, apart from reading and writing, she loves gardening and cycling and is a huge fan of the soaps Emmerdale and Neighbours.

Social Media Links:





Wednesday, October 6, 2021

The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix REVIEW

The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires
by Grady Hendrix


🌕🌕🌕🌑🌑

Synopsis

Patricia Campbell had always planned for a big life, but after giving up her career as a nurse to marry an ambitious doctor and become a mother, Patricia's life has never felt smaller. The days are long, her kids are ungrateful, her husband is distant, and her to-do list is never really done. The one thing she has to look forward to is her book club, a group of Charleston mothers united only by their love for true-crime and suspenseful fiction. In these meetings, they're more likely to discuss the FBI's recent siege of Waco as much as the ups and downs of marriage and motherhood.

But when an artistic and sensitive stranger moves into the neighborhood, the book club's meetings turn into speculation about the newcomer. Patricia is initially attracted to him, but when some local children go missing, she starts to suspect the newcomer is involved. She begins her own investigation, assuming that he's a Jeffrey Dahmer or Ted Bundy. What she uncovers is far more terrifying, and soon she--and her book club--are the only people standing between the monster they've invited into their homes and their unsuspecting community.

Review

I really enjoyed this book although I didn't find it creepy at all. It was interesting enough to keep my attention throughout the entire story. I didn't like how much the story was dragged out. If it had of been shortened I think it would have seemed less dragged out.

The characters were well fleshed out , although I can't say I actually liked any of them. While I still can't say I liked her, I did feel bad for Patricia. It was very frustrating the way everyone, especially the men, would dismiss her like she had lost her mind. I mean I get that calling someone a vampire would be something most people would dismiss, it was just the way it was done that irritated me.

This is my second novel by Grady Hendrix, the first one being My Best Friend's Exorcism. Unfortunately, I found that one to be much better than The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires. I would still like to read more books by Hendrix in the future. 

Friday, October 1, 2021

The Holiday Swap by Maggie Knox REVIEW

 The Holiday Swap

by Maggie Knox


🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

Synopsis:

When chef Charlie Goodwin gets hit on the head on the L.A. set of her reality baking show, she loses a lot more than consciousness; she also loses her ability to taste and smell--both critical to her success as show judge. Meanwhile, Charlie's identical twin, Cass, is frantically trying to hold her own life together back in their quaint mountain hometown while running the family's bustling bakery and dealing with her ex, who won't get the memo that they're over.

With only days until Christmas, a desperate Charlie asks Cass to do something they haven't done since they were kids: switch places. Looking for her own escape from reality, Cass agrees. But temporarily trading lives proves more complicated than they imagined, especially when rugged firefighter Jake Greenman and gorgeous physician's assistant Miguel Rodriguez are thrown into the mix. Will the twins' identity swap be a recipe for disaster, or does it have all the right ingredients for getting their lives back on track?

Review:

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

This book is so cute and sweet! It's like a Hallmark movie in book form. Grab your blanket, your hot cocoa and get cozy because this book is sure give you the warm and fuzzies!

Charlie Goodwin is a co-star of her own reality baking show. One day she has a mishap that results in a bad concussion causing her to temporarily lose her taste and smell. Cass, Charlie's twin sister, lives in the girl's hometown helping their parents run the family bakery. She has lots to take care of with the days leading up to Christmas which is made even harder by an ex that just won't take the hint. Charlie convinces Cass to switch places with her while they sort out each others problems. Cass will take over for Charlie on the show, while Charlie will deal with Cass' ex-boyfriend once and for all. Can they pull it off or will everything turn to disaster right before Christmas?

Charlie and Cass are such lovable main characters. I adored their relationship and their willingness to jump into each others lives to help one another. There is something about them that is just so wholesome and lovable. The cast of characters was the perfect size for the story. Each character was needed, perfectly placed and expertly written.

The story was truly wonderful and the writing was simply superb. There was the perfect amount of conflict and resolution. It had a steady flow with no drags or info dump. The Holiday Swap is the perfect story to just snuggle up and enjoy.

If you're a fan of wholesome clean Christmas romances, give this a try. If you're a fan of stories where identical twins pull a switcharoo for awhile, give this one a try. If you want just a nice family Christmas story, give this one a try. Seriously, give it a try.

Sunday, September 26, 2021

Sherlock Holmes & the Singular Affair by M.K. Wiseman COVER REVEAL

Sherlock Holmes & the Singular Affair
by M.K. Wiseman


Hey all! I am super excited to bringing you guys another cover reveal! Cover reveals are some of my favorite bookish content to post. I love beautiful covers and I especially love sharing them with all you of you!

Synopsis:

Before Baker Street, there was Montague.

Before partnership with a former army doctor recently returned from Afghanistan, Sherlock Holmes had but the quiet company of his own great intellect. Solitary he might be but, living as he did for the thrill of the chase, it was enough.

For a little while, at the least, it was enough.

That is, until a client arrives at his door with a desperate plea and an invitation into a world of societal scandal and stage door dandies. Thrust deep in an all-consuming role and charged with the safe-keeping of another, Holmes must own to his limits or risk danger to others besides himself in this the case of the aluminum crutch.

Pre-order Links:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09DXQVT56/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09DXQVT56/

Apple Books: https://books.apple.com/us/book/sherlock-holmes-amp-the-singular-affair/id1583511548


Publication Date: 7th December

Here we go!!!














☆ ☆













☆ ☆ ☆













☆ ☆ ☆ ☆













☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆













☆ ☆ ☆ ☆













☆ ☆ ☆













☆ ☆



















!!!!!!

Isn't it beautiful! I love hand drawn looking covers!


Author Bio


M. K. Wiseman has degrees in Interarts & Technology and Library & Information Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her office, therefore, is a curious mix of storyboards and reference materials. Both help immensely in the writing of historical novels. She currently resides in Cedarburg, Wisconsin.

Social Media Links:

http://mkwisemanauthor.com
https://twitter.com/FaublesFables
https://www.facebook.com/FaublesFables/
https://www.instagram.com/faublesfables/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7073540.M_K_Wiseman


When You Get The Chance by Emma Lord REVIEW

When You Get The Chance by Emma Lord 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑 Synopsis Nothing will get in the way of Millie Price’s dream to become a Broadway star. Not ...